Update and Veggie Fried Rice with Homemade Teriyaki Sauce

Ah, it’s been a long time. As some of you know, we put our house up for sale not too long ago. Since doing so, there have been numerous texts and emails saying someone wants to come view our house. Keeping a house clean with a two-year old is hard, but when you need to keep it SUPER clean and clean ALL the time with a two-year old it becomes even harder.

For showings, we would have to be out of the house for about an hour. On nice days, it wasn’t a big problem. I’d just take the little one and the dog and go for a walk. On a few occasions we’d have to go for a drive, but that was ok. It wasn’t a big deal, but the big deal came when trying to schedule the viewings around nap time and dinner. Thankfully we only had to deal with it for a short while as our house sold in two weeks! That’s just the market here in Edmonton.

So, we made it down to Cochrane this past weekend and put an offer on a house in Sunset Ridge. It wasn’t our first choice, but that’s ok. Our first choice was in a neighborhood on the west side of town. It was a former show home, had a finished walkout basement, and mountain views. Did I mention that the kitchen had granite countertops? We could picture ourselves having coffee on the deck looking at the Rockies. We had another look on Saturday and was ready to make an offer that evening. However, our realtor pointed out a few things in the basement and the Hubs asked if the owner had a permit to build the basement. Sure enough, there was no permit so we decided to walk away. We didn’t want to take a chance of something happening. So if and when y’all decide to look for a house make, sure you ask about permits to protect yourself. We were surprised that their realtor didn’t ask for it. That was one of the first questions our realtor asked us when she found out our basement was finished. Oh well, that house wasn’t meant to be. We did, however, find a nice house in Sunset Ridge with granite and four bedrooms. I LOVE the kitchen! Y’all will be seeing photos of it on the blog in December because we move next month!

Now that the hard part of this house is done (for now), I can blog more often! YAY! And I have missed it.

On to last night’s supper! Last night, we had vegetable fried rice with homemade teriyaki sauce from Oh She Glows. Her original recipe is Speedy Veggie ‘n Brown Rice Noodle Bowl with Homemade Teriyaki Sauce. Now, I’ve been on the hunt for a good-tasting, gluten-free homemade teriyaki sauce recipe. Most store-bought sauces have wheat or some form of wheat in it. When I saw that she had this recipe, I was all over it like white on rice. Get it? HA!

I didn’t do the rice noodles. I gave the little one and the Hubs a choice of noodles or rice and they both said rice. That’s fine because her recipe doesn’t have anything to thicken up the sauce. The rice would soak up most of it and the dish wouldn’t be so liquidy. If you want noodles and like your sauce liquidy, then go ahead. If you want it a bit thicker, you might want to add a bit of cornstarch. If you want to do that, put your sauce in a pan, warm it up, and then add a cornstarch slurry. Trust me, the slurry makes adding cornstarch SO much easier!!!

She specifies which vegetables you should use too: carrots, celery, broccoli, edamame, and green onions. However, I couldn’t be bothered julienning carrots and chopping celery. So I cheated and used this:

IMG_4821

It had the carrots and broccoli but it also had cauliflower. If you don’t have time to chop veggies, you can use frozen (any mix you want or whatever you have in the freezer). It’s perfectly ok. Frozen produce is picked when their ripe and then frozen. Alternatively, you can add any vegetable that’s Asian inspiring like eggplant or bok choy.

The sauce took a bit of tinkering though. She uses coconut aminos, which is a gluten-free and soy-free version of soy sauce. Coconut aminos have a low sodium content, and y’all know how I feel about salt. It’s hard for me to find coconut aminos and when I did, it was hard for me to get used to the taste. So, I used tamari which is a gluten-free version of soy sauce. If you use tamari or regular soy sauce remember that this is going to be salty. So you might want to add a bit less than she calls for (1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp) and go by taste. You might want to do that with the rice vinegar too. When I did everything, the sauce was vinegary and salty. I added more sugar and a bit of water to cut down on the saltiness and vinegar.

IMG_4822

By the time I was done tinkering with the taste of the sauce, my rice was done cooking. I boiled some water and poured it in a pot with the frozen veggies. I also threw in some frozen edamame too. I stir fried the rice, then added the veggies, and added the sauce making sure everything was warmed through and mixed really well.

IMG_4824

This recipe, the way I did it, was quick and easy. I used rice which is easy to cook, and I used frozen vegetables. You can use fresh vegetables if you want. It’s whatever you wish to do. There’s no wrong way. The sauce was the closest homemade recipe I’ve run across to store-bought teriyaki sauce. I’m still looking but this is the closest I’ve come. If you want to use rice noodles, spaghetti, or any other noodles that’s ok too. You can use whatever you want. This dish is easy so you can make it your own and have your own twist. So, go look it up and get started!!

Leave a Reply

