How Are You?! It’s Been A While!

I know it’s been a while. SO much has happened! One thing that’s happening I won’t discuss just yet, but I will tell y’all soon enough. I can tell you that we went to Canmore, Alberta for a vacation a few weeks ago. We stayed at Copperstone Resort. It’s basically like a little apartment that you get. We had two bedrooms (one for the little one), a nice kitchen, and living area. We like staying there because it’s cheaper than staying in the town of Canmore. Copperstone is like a five-minute drive from Canmore in the little hamlet of Dead Man’s Flats. Since I have SO many food allergies, this was the best option for us.

We cooked dinner a few times and of course we ate out as well. It was hard to find vegan and gluten-friendly restaurants during our trip. We went to Lake Louise and one of the restaurants in the Farimont was really good about my allergies. There weren’t a lot of vegan dishes, so I opted for a vegetarian portobello burger and sweet potato fries. I explained my allergy to mushrooms and asked if the portobello mushroom could be removed. There were plenty of other veggies in the “burger” to make it substantial. And I asked for a gluten-free bun. Our waiter was super understanding, didn’t give me any weird looks, or sigh. I was VERY happy about that. Usually when you have a lot of food allergies you can you see the look of “OMG” on the server’s face.

There was, however, one restaurant in Canmore that has a menu that’s 100% gluten-free. The Wild Orchid Bistro is an Asian restaurant which was EXCELLENT! I read reviews before going and if someone who is a Celiac gave it rave reviews, I had to try it. We went our last night and I absolutely gorged myself on tempura. Do you know how long it’s been since I’ve had tempura? I can’t even have my Momma’s tempura when she comes! I had three servings of it by myself! The little one loved his dish and so did the Hubs. If you’re ever in Canmore, go to the Silver Creek Lodge and walk straight through the lobby to the Bistro. I cannot express how wonderful it was to find a menu that’s 100% gluten-free and it not taste like it’s gluten-free!

Ok, so last night I made Cinnamon Spiced Sweet Potato Chickpea Salad. After doing a few road trips the last few weeks, I figured the three of us needed to detox. I was a little worried the little one wouldn’t like it but he loved it! So here are the ingredients I started out with.

IMG_4789

Very simple huh? I didn’t think that the sweet potato and chickpeas would be enough, so I decided to serve it with some quinoa. I cooked my quinoa in some vegetable broth to give it a bit more flavor. If you cook quinoa too, DON’T forget to rinse it!

Now, I know you have cried while chopping an onion. We all have. I’ve even worn my snowboarding goggles and my sunglasses in an attempt to stop from crying. Sometimes it can sting so bad that you have to stop for a few minutes until it passes. When you’re not wearing waterproof-mascara, that’s the last thing you want is to have streaks down your face because of an onion.

I’ve heard so many different tips in trying to prevent it. I’ve heard that my knife wasn’t sharp enough, to freeze it, don’t chop both ends off, and numerous others. They all didn’t work. What makes you cry is the sulfuric acid.

What I have noticed lately is when I chop any end off, whether it’s just one end or both, there’s this white liquid. I don’t know if you can see it on the onion below, but you can see it on my finger.

IMG_4791 IMG_4790

I’ve noticed that when this liquid comes out, or appears, I cry like crazy and my eyes sting. When I noticed it the next time, I decided to put the onion under the faucet and rinsed the liquid off. Low and behold I didn’t cry!! After rinsing, chopping an onion was faster and a much more pleasant experience! I’ve been rinsing my onions ever since and I haven’t cried in a long time! You should try it. If it doesn’t work for you, let me know.

So, for the recipe, you peel a sweet potato, chop the onion, and put it in a bowl along with your rinsed chickpeas. Sprinkle 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and some coconut oil and toss everything together so it’s all coated. Then spread it on a pan and roast for 40 minutes at 425F. She says to add salt but I forgot that so I added salt at the end.

When all of that goodness comes out of the oven, your house just smells like fall. The cinnamon and sweet potato emits this wonderful aroma.

IMG_4795

I served this over a bed of quinoa because I wasn’t sure it would be all that filling for supper. Plus I haven’t had quinoa in a while and I was missing it.

This dish was SUPER easy to make and I even let the little one help make it. I let him pour the veggies onto the pan (he loves doing that). He ate his, the Hubs ate his and what the little one didn’t finish and even said “I’m taking this for lunch tomorrow.”

This dish is perfect for a fall day. The leaves are all different colors here and are sadly starting to disappear. This dish has the fall colors and flavors and it’s packed with nutrients and protein. NO MEAT NEEDED!

Leave a Reply

