Southwestern Sweet Potato Soup

Let’s see what’s happened since I last posted. Our ninth wedding anniversary was last Wednesday. Yep. We’ve been married for nine years (the Hubs likes to say he’d get less for murder) and this month marks eight years that I’ve been living in Canada.

For our anniversary, I made the Hubs and the little one a ground beef and Italian sausage lasagna and the Hubs made me a vegan, gluten-free chocolate cake. My meat-loving husband doesn’t get to eat meat too much so I figured I’d make him something sinful and full of meat. As far as the cake goes, THAT was all chocolately sinful goodness. I think over the weekend I had three slices of it just for lunch.

The rest of the week I can’t really remember what happened. I do remember recycling recipes for those last days though. So I didn’t have anything too interesting to post about. This week the Hubs is out in Nova Scotia so it’s just me and the little one. I’ve tried to pick easy recipes and some are recycled so I might not post as often this week. Next week we’re going to Canmore for vacation. The both of us could really do with a vacation. I’ll post while we’re there and tell y’all about places I/we eat, even though we’ve booked a long-stay hotel room that’s basically like an apartment. We’ll be staying at Copperstone Resort. We stayed there last year when my Mom came up to visit and we liked it. It’s not in town but that’s ok.

So, about last night’s recipe. I made Southwestern Sweet Potato Soup from Chef Michael Smith’s cookbook The Best of Chef At Home: Essential Recipes For Today’s Kitchen. He’s an American chef living in the Maritimes in Canada (Prince Edward Island I think). I have to give a shout out to a fellow American when I can!

I didn’t think that I would be able to go into details about the recipe but I guess it’s been a while since the book was published so it’s now online. Now I can really go in to detail about it. Yay!

The recipe starts out by suggesting you preheat your oven. If you’re like me, I had no idea why and I scanned the recipe like five times to figure out why. It wasn’t until about five minutes ago that I found out why: to heat up the tortillas. I didn’t use any tortillas. I used tortilla chips to crush and put on top of the soup.

If you want to veganize the recipe, you can use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. He also says to grate two large sweet potatoes. I had little ones so I used four of those. I started to grate them but if I grated all of them, I would’ve been there all night. Sweet potatoes aren’t the easiest of vegetables to grate. So half way through the second sweet potato, I ended up cutting them up into small cubes so they’d cook faster.

IMG_4703

You’ll sauté your onions and garlic cloves. He says to start with the onions and then throw in the garlic because garlic burns faster. We all know garlic burns faster, but for me it never clicked until last night. I’ll make sure to do this every time I cook from here on out.

When your onions and garlic are done cooking, throw in the sweet potatoes, broth, pepper (if you’re using it), cinnamon, cumin, and salt. Now, I don’t know about you but I never thought of using cinnamon for a southwestern dish. It just doesn’t seem to go, right? You usually think of spices like cumin or paprika or chili powder. However, the cinnamon works. Don’t ask me how. It just works. Trust me.

I think I let my pot simmer for about 30 minutes to make sure the sweet potatoes were done. Then you get your immersion blender and go to town.

IMG_4707

I had to add quite a bit of salt even though the recipe says a “sprinkle or two of salt.” Do yours to taste. I love my salt. I also didn’t use sour cream or any of the garnish. I was pushing it for time and I forgot to add vegan sour cream to my weekly shopping list. Oops! Instead, I just crushed a handful of tortilla chips on top as a garnish.

IMG_4708

That’s the little one’s bowl. I added a few more tortilla chips on the side to scoop up any soup. The little one ate almost all of his and the Hubs liked it. I was iffy on it because of the cinnamon, but they both liked it. I let the little one do a taste test and he kept saying “MORE!” so I knew it had to be good. And it was!

The soup was quick and easy to make and it was perfect for yesterday. It just felt like a soup day. The sun was warm but the air has a hint of fall in it. I love fall, but that’s for another post.

If you want soup that’s no fuss (you can kick back on the couch while it simmers), then this is your dish. If you have the time to grate the sweet potatoes, then by all means do it. If you don’t have time (like I did) or don’t have the patience (like I do), then chop them up into cubes.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

