Tomato, Basil, and Garlic Cashew Cream Pasta

Last night’s supper was quick, refreshing, easy, light, and perfect for a hot summer’s night. It involved some fresh tomatoes from the garden, cashews, and pasta. What’s not to love with that combination? Ok, maybe a glass of wine would be nice to add.

I found this recipe on One Green Planet, but it’s originally from The Friendly Fig. One of the great things about this recipe is that the cashew nuts don’t have to soak for four hours. I don’t know about you, but sometimes I forget to soak my cashews for four hours when I have a recipe that involves the long period of soaking. Then I have to cook another recipe I had planned for later in the week and then soak the cashews for the next day. This recipe says you only need to let them soak for 10-15 minutes! What’s the next best thing you ask? I made this dish in 20 minutes!! Yep. You read right. I was done in 20 minutes.

I started out by soaking the cashew nuts, and then I washed my lovely tomatoes. I used two from the garden, two from the store, and a handful of grape tomatoes.

IMG_4695

I diced up the four big tomatoes but left the grape tomatoes intact for a bit of contrast, and because I felt like it. Actually, I was too lazy to dice those little bitty tomatoes.

You sauté the tomatoes and minced garlic together, taking care not to burn the garlic. Then toss the cashews into a food processor with lemon juice, a garlic clove, and some salt and pepper. The recipe didn’t call for any water and I thought that was a bit odd because most recipes that call for processing cashews usually call for water to help it along.

I didn’t add any at first and found that my mixture didn’t want to blend too well. So in the end, I did add some water.

IMG_4698

Once it’s at your desired consistency, toss it in with the tomatoes and garlic. Mix it all up and let it simmer so all of the flavors can mingle with each other, and so you can get your pasta going. Also, you might want to add in some basil (if you have any on hand).

IMG_4700

This dish was fantastic in its simplicity. It was super easy to make, and super fast. If you want to make it even faster, you can use canned diced tomatoes, but I’d probably drain it first. The Hubs went back for seconds and the little one ate every single bite. It’s even excellent for lunch the next day!

IMG_4702

If you don’t have a whole lot of time to make dinner during the week, or if you just don’t feel like making what you have picked out, this recipe is perfect. You can use canned diced tomatoes, any kind of pasta of your liking, and you can even throw in some other spices and herbs!

Leave a Reply

