Cornmeal Pancakes With Gingered Plum Compote

When I saw this recipe in the My New Roots cookbook, I knew immediately I wanted to make it. I just had to wait until there were plums available in the grocery store.

According to Wikipedia, compote is:

A dessert originating from medieval Europe, made of whole or pieces of fruit in sugar syrup. Whole fruits are cooked in water with sugar and spices. The syrup may be seasoned with vanilla, lemon or orange peel, cinnamon sticks or powder, cloves, other spices, ground almonds, grated coconut, candied fruit, or raisins. The compote is served either warm or cold.

I’ve never had compote, at least not that I can remember, so I was looking forward to making this on my own and the little one likes plums.

You actually have to make the batter the night before and let it sit in the fridge overnight. I had the Hubs make up the batter for me while I went for a run. So when you’re ready to cook, you just add a bit of milk (or nut milk) to soften it up and then get to cooking.

The compote was easy. Then again I didn’t know what to expect because I’ve never had it nor have I ever cooked it. I will tell you that you’re supposed to start out with 12 plums, but the little one had a few so I think I ended up with 9. There are 10 in the photo but one was off.

IMG_4670

You slice up the fruit and add it with a few other things. One ingredient in the compote is cardamom. I didn’t have ground cardamom, so I opened up some green cardamom that I had and ground those seeds.

IMG_4673 IMG_4672

Sorry about the focus in the above photo, but I was trying to get a close up of the little seeds. When I opened up a pod, there were at least 6 little bitty seeds inside. I opened a few pods and then ground the seeds up.

According to the Flavor Thesaurus:

Open a jar of cardamom pods and you might be reminded of a vapor rub or sinus-clearing stick. Like bay leaves and rosemary, cardamom contains clear notes of camphor and eucalyptus. As a member of the ginger family, it also has a citrus floral quality; depending on their country of origin, cardamoms are likely to be stronger in eucalyptus or floral-citrus flavors. Whichever dominates, those fresh notes are good for cutting through fattiness, especially with ingredients that let the spice’s complexity of flavor shine–e.g., cream, chocolate, nuts or buttery rice.

When I smelled the cardamom, I couldn’t quite put my finger on what the scent reminded me of. But now that I just read that entry, it did remind me a bit of Vicks VapoRub.

This is the compote almost done

IMG_4675

I let the little one do a taste test, but he loved it so much I had to give him a small bowl of it before I even started on the pancakes!

The pancakes were simple. You just spoon a bit of the batter into a pan and cook. Then serve the pancakes with the compote on top.

IMG_4679

I think the Hubs and I each had three pancakes and the little one had 1.5. There was plenty of compote leftover so the Hubs and little one had french toast with the compote for breakfast the next day.

This dish was easy, quick, and SUPER tasty. I think the only problem I encountered was that there wasn’t enough batter. The pancakes and compote were that good that everyone wanted more! Next time, I’ll double up on the batter and make sure I have 12 plums for the compote. I highly recommend that y’all make this recipe. It’s just too good to pass up!!

Leave a Reply

