Italian Bean Balls and Spaghetti Squash

Last night we had Italian bean balls and spaghetti squash from Oh She Glows. I can go into details with this one because the recipe is online. This one is different from another bean balls recipe I made. I think the other one I tried called for navy beans or cannellini beans, but this one called for red kidney beans.

This is my adaptation of Angela Liddon’s recipe.

First, you start off by roasting your spaghetti squash. You put your oven up to 400F, slice your squash, scoop out all the seeds, place it in a pan flesh side up, drizzle olive oil on it, and sprinkle it with salt and pepper. Let the squash roast for about 45 minutes.

I worked on the bean balls while the squash was roasting. I didn’t roast my walnuts simply because I didn’t have time. I started supper a bit late last night, and the little one becomes a little monster if he’s not eating by 5:15. I did use the walnuts, they just weren’t toasted.

I used Bob’s Red Mill wheat free oats for my bean balls.

IMG_4655

You grind them up into a flour in your food processor. Then you’ll mix it in with some grated carrot, parsley, basil, sun-dried tomatoes, garlic, and walnuts. I didn’t add parsley or the sun-dried tomatoes to mine. Parsley doesn’t agree with me and I probably should’ve added the sun-dried tomatoes. I haven’t used them in a while because they’re packed in oil with spices that I couldn’t have while I was doing my elimination diet. Even now, I’m not too sure if parsley is used in the oil, so it was safer for me to just leave it out.

Next, put your kidney beans into the food processor and grind them up into a chunky paste. Then mix the beans in with the oat mixture.

IMG_4657

And now, introducing the flax-seed egg. Oh how I’ve missed you! I couldn’t have flax seeds because they were on my no-no list, but I’m glad that I can now have them because I love using them as an egg substitute.

IMG_4658

Make your flax-seed egg and let it sit for a few seconds. Mix it in with your bean ball mixture and add the remaining herbs and spices.

She says to roll them into tightly packed balls about the size of a golf ball, and it should yield 18-20 balls. I did that but I ended up with 10 balls, but that was ok.

IMG_4660Let them bake at 350 for 20 minutes. She does say to flip them and bake them again for another 20 minutes, but I didn’t have time. By the time the required 20 minutes came, it was approaching 5:30 and the little one kept coming into the kitchen. So, I served them after baking about 25 minutes.

The little one had his with quinoa pasta. I let him pour the pasta in a pot and put the salt in. He loved that. However, the Hubs and I had ours with spaghetti squash.

IMG_4661

I sprinkled nutritional yeast on mine and the little ones dishes. The dinner was lovely and the little one said “more!” when he finished his first bowl. Because the balls had beans (protein), I was full for the evening. I’m gonna make this dish again. I might even make it for the in-laws!

Leave a Reply

