Spaghetti Squash Baby Cakes

I can’t remember what it was I did the last few days to warrant not posting. Oh, I remember. At one point I was worried because I was experiencing a “twinge” in the arch of my right foot. I usually run about 7 miles every other day. I wear Saucony Kinarva 4s. I’ve had them for a while and they’ve treated me right up until now. I don’t know what went wrong. Maybe my form was off one day and then threw everything else out of whack? I just can’t bear to part with them just yet so I put in some inserts that I had. I don’t know what changed but my run last night was great. My pinky toes are starting to poke a hole on the sides of my shoes, but I just can’t bear to part with them just yet. They’ve been with me through my weight loss journey. They’re like an old friend. Sadly, I think I’m going to have to retire them soon though. Sigh.

Last night before the run, we had spaghetti squash baby cakes from My New Roots. I thought this recipe was perfect because I had two squashes in the pantry that needed to be used up soon. However, I didn’t follow her recipe to the ‘t’. I tweaked it a bit, so this is my adaptation of her wonderful recipe.

Of course you roast your spaghetti squash first. While that was roasting, I put everything into my food processor to grind up.

IMG_4624

You grind up some oats, garlic, salt and pepper, and sage. This is where I had to improvise. Her recipe calls for 12 sage leaves. I didn’t have sage leaves and I totally forgot to put it on my shopping list. So, I added 2 teaspoons of ground sage instead. It might have been due to the garlic cloves, but the smell from this concoction was lovely!

Once your squash is done, you’ll scrape it out as usual, but this time you’ll put it in a sieve to squish out any excess water.

IMG_4625

I found that there wasn’t much moisture to squish out. The only thing that came out was the olive oil that I drizzled on top of the squash.

Anyways, when you’re done squishing, you put it in a bowl along with the oat mixture (which does include one green onion. See recipe), one mixed egg, and cheese. You can probably substitute a flax seed egg here or another egg substitute. In hindsight, I probably should’ve done this. Flax seeds are on my no-no list and I really should try to reintroduce them into my diet again. For the cheese, I used 1/4 cup of nutritional yeast as she suggests. I think I added just a teeny tiny bit more just for good measure. Then, make sure you mix everything well.

IMG_4628

You’ll form them into little patties and then fry or bake them. I opted to fry them since I had fries going in the oven. I also had to roll them into balls with one had. While I was trying to open the container that had the nutritional yeast, somehow I managed to scrape a chunk of skin off the knuckle of my right thumb. So, rolling these with one hand was quite interesting and took some concentration since I had to do it with my left hand.

IMG_4629

They don’t take long to cook at all. I ended up with 8 patties. She says in her recipe that it yields 15-20 small patties. I wasn’t close to that number. The Hubs had 3, the little one had 1.5, and I had 3.5. What can I say? I was running last night, so I needed extra.

This was the final product. As you can see I didn’t add the sage leaves like she did.

IMG_4630

I was full on this and wasn’t hungry after my 7 mile run. The little one enjoyed his so much he had to have a little bit more. The Hubs liked it as well. I did forget to add salt while I was mixing everything together, so I will suggest that you not forget this step. If you’re not wheat-free you can probably have these in a bun or wrap. I’m definitely going to have to make these again. If there were any leftovers, I’m sure these would be excellent the next day too.

Y’all enjoy your Friday. I may or may not post tomorrow. I’m not sure what to do for dinner since we’re going to a friend’s birthday party tonight. Either way, enjoy your weekend!!

Leave a Reply

