So, How Do You Feel Full?

I apologize for the silence over the weekend. We finally got a chance to pain the dining room and the living room. It’s the only free weekend we have before the in-laws arrive, and I wanted it done before they get here. After months of trying to decide on a color, it’s done. PHEW!!

Now, in my last post I gave a brief overview of my experience of becoming a vegan. Now I’ll go into how to feel full while being on a plant-based/vegan diet. No doubt you’ll get the question: “but where will your protein come from?” and “will you eat salads all the time?” Yes, you will eat salads but they’ll leave you feeling full. You won’t get hungry 30 minutes later, they won’t be loaded down with cheese (unless you want vegan cheese), bacon bits, croutons (unless you want to), or with an unhealthy dressing. And yes, your protein will come from plants and not meat, but you’ll see get your protein, you’ll feel full, and the protein source will be a healthy source.

This is an example of what my daily meals look like. I won’t include dinner because that usually varies every night. However, our dinners do have beans or other sources of protein. Sometimes I’ll have leftovers for lunch too:

Breakfast: oatmeal with cinnamon and agave syrup and my much needed coffee.

Lunch: salad with qunioa, sunflower seeds, chia seeds, walnuts, salt and pepper

Oatmeal has 6 grams of protein in 1 cup of cooked oatmeal. I usually have half a cup but that works for me. I find that I’m satisfied until lunch. My lunch on the other hand is SUPER packed with protein. The quinoa, sunflower seeds, chia seeds, and walnuts are all packed with protein. Whenever I have this salad I’m satisfied all the way until dinner.

The key with salads is to add protein and not just leafy greens. That’s where most people go wrong. They don’t add protein and end up being hungry after they’ve had it. You can’t just have the leafy greens and dressing. Oh! Speaking of dressing. You should try a healthier alternative to the store-bought ones. You can make a simple dressing with balsamic vinegar and olive oil, or try lemon juice with olive oil. There are PLENY of recipes online and Pintrest if you look.

If you follow a good plant-based/vegan diet, then you probably have no problems meeting your protein needs. But for those of us who are interested in going vegan, newly vegan, or just want to learn more, to find out how much protein you need, multiply your weight by 0.4 to find out how many grams you need. (Vegan For Her: The Woman’s Guide To Being Healthy And Fit On A Plant-Based Diet.)i  I’m 136lbs, so if I want to find out how many grams of protein I need, this is how I figure it out: 136 x 0.4 = 54.4 grams. Simple huh? By the time I have lunch, I think my protein needs are half way there for the day.

So, where can you get protein? It’s surprisingly easy to get your protein needs met when you know where to get it.

  • Peanut butter
  • Any soy product like tempeh and tofu
  • Plant/nut milks: soy milk has a higher protein content compared to almond milk.
  • Beans! They’re loaded with protein, calcium, potassium, and magnesium.
  • Tahini – tahini is a nut butter made from sesame seeds. It’s similar to peanut butter but healthier
  • Nuts – almonds, cashews, Brazil nuts, pistachios, pumpkin seeds, etc.
  • Peas

There are so many places you can get protein and have a delicious meal. After you’ve learned how easy it is to get your protein, you won’t be so concerned about it and it’ll become second nature to you. You won’t even have to think about it, you’ll automatically start to add protein-rich foods in your diet/recipes.

There are so many resources out there too, but you have to be careful of which sites you look at. Make sure they’re reputable. There are different formulas for finding the optimal amount of daily intake for protein. Find which one works for you or consult your physician. Here are a few good sources that I can think of off the top of my head for you:

Please keep in mind that I am not a nutritionist nor a doctor. I am a regular person sharing her experiences with being a vegan. I also trying to pass along the knowledge that I’ve learned and hope I can help someone. If I can help one person then I’ve done my job.

I hope you enjoy your Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

