Four Corners Lentil Soup

Last night was just full of lentil goodness from My New Roots cookbook. The other night I cooked with green lentils, but last night it was with red lentils. I’m not a nutritionist but I have a deep interest in nutrition. It’s amazing how you get interested in something when you’re suddenly effected with something.

For instance, I was diagnosed with leaky gut syndrome and having an allergy to wheat. I was never really interested in nutrition for myself, but definitely for the little one, until I got “sick.” I was forced to find plant sources for protein because of one of the medications I had to take needed to be taken with a protein meal. Before, I wasn’t too concerned. That, in turn, got me interested in what nutrients were offered in which plants. I also needed to know this since I try to maintain a vegan diet.

But back to the recipe, I never really knew the difference between the different types of lentils. As in yesterday’s post, I just know that green lentils maintain their shape/texture and take about 45 minutes to cook. Apparently they’re really good to use in salads too (I must try this at some point). Red lentils take about 20 minutes to cook and they get mushy. That’s about all I know about the two. But Sarah Britton is a holistic nutritionist and certified nutritional practitioner, so I think it’s safe to say she knows what she’s talking about.

In the cookbook, she has a blurb about red lentils:

Red lentils have a velvety texture and a delicate flavor–perfect for purees and soups because they tend to fall apart when cooked. I often add blended red lentils to soups or stews to make them creamy without the cream! They are low in calories, virtually fat-free, but very filling because of their high fiber content. In addition to providing the body with slow-burning complex carbohydrates, lentils can increase your energy by replenishing your iron stores. This is a particularly good feature for women, who are more at risk for iron deficiency–especially because, unlike red meat, another source of iron, lentils are not rich in fat and calories.

Interesting huh? I will tell you that in this recipe, she uses lemons. Vitamin C helps your body absorb iron. So that’s probably why lemons are added other than the fact that they lend a wonderful taste to the soup.

I had some leeks in the fridge that needed to be used, and thankfully this recipe says you can use onions or leeks. So I chopped up those and some garlic cloves. You cook those and then add some more ingredients. She does say you can use a can of tomatoes or five fresh ones. I only had three. They’ve been sitting in the fridge for a while and needed to be used soon or they’d go bad. They were big enough to count as five tomatoes, so that’s what I used.

IMG_4607

You let it simmer for a while and then you’re ready to serve. I can’t get over how quick and easy Sarah Britton’s soups are. I love soups but sometimes I just don’t have time to make them because I have a little person to attend to. With Britton’s soups, I can put on an episode of Toopy & Binoo (yes I know it’s bad to have the TV serve as a babysitter), and get supper done in an hour. Sometimes the little one will come over and asked to be picked up so he can see what I’m doing and then ask for a taste, but the easiness and speed you can cook her soups are fabulous!

So, when everything was done, you serve your soup. I had no need to add any extra salt or anything. The lemons totally made the dish.

IMG_4608

The little one wasn’t a huge fan but I think that’s because of the tartness the lemons added. There is a remedy for that. She has a suggestion, but I won’t tell you what it is exactly because you’ll just have to buy her cookbook. The Hubs liked his and I actually got mad because he froze all of the leftovers and didn’t leave me any for lunch today. I was looking forward to having some. Oh well. I am DEFINITELY going to be making this soup again. I can just imagine how it would be on a cold day. You have to try this soup!

Enjoy your day! We’re going to have summer corn and shrimp soup tonight. Yes, another soup.

Leave a Reply

