Roasted Cauliflower with Lebanese Lentils and An Apology

Hello everyone. I’m still alive. I took a mini break with the blog to recharge my batteries. I usually post while the little one is napping. He usually naps anywhere from 1.5hrs to 2hrs. When I finish my blog post an hour has gone and then I get a little bit of time to myself before he wakes up. So all last week while he was napping, I caught up on some TV shows, I read a book with a cup of coffee in the sun, and basically paid attention to myself. I haven’t done that in a while.

I think as a new (or fairly new) mom, there’s a danger in losing yourself because there’s a little person who demands your complete attention. You don’t have time to think about anything other than the little person that you’ve created. He’s 1.5 years old but he still demands my attention. When he doesn’t get it he pulls on my pants or just gets right in my face. It might be a little annoying at the time or for a split second, but then you have to think this little person wants your attention and loves you. You’re his whole world. So, that 1.5hrs – 2hrs time slot becomes very precious to me. There were so many other external factors going on last week that I just needed to step back and concentrate on myself. I apologize for neglecting you all last week. I am sorry, but I am now fully charged and ready to go and will keep bringing you posts.

Sunday night we had roasted cauliflower with Lebanese lentils from My New Roots. The original recipe is called Roasted Cauliflower with Lebanese Lentils and Kaniwa. I didn’t have kaniwa nor did I know what it was. She does say you can use quinoa instead, but I didn’t see that part until later. In her cookbook, there’s a little blurb about it:

Kaniwa is similar to quinoa and amaranth, a grain-like seed very high in protein and minerals. Because kaniwa is such a small seed, what we eat is mostly bran, which is very high in fiber and iron. The flavor of kaniwa is nutty and slightly sweet. It is delicious as a warm breakfast porridge and cold in a grain salad too.

I thought the dish would be filling without it and it was. You slice up a cauliflower and roast it for about half an hour. I think I roasted mine for 25 minutes.

IMG_4600

While the cauliflower was roasting I let my lentils cook. While those were cooking, I went back outside to play with the little one and the Hubs with the sidewalk chalk. Actually, I think the grown ups played with the sidewalk chalk and the little one just played with the rocks that are in our flower bed out front.

When the lentils and cauliflower were done cooking you start to toast the spices in a pan. The aroma was just…WOW! I’m still fairly new to this toasting-the-spices-before-you-cook technique. I mentioned this to the Hubs, and he’s like “yeah, it’s supposed to wake them up.” Well! After you toast the spices, you throw in a sliced onion to caramelize.

The recipe calls for green lentils. There are different types of lentils. I’ve only cooked with green and red, but I think there’s a brown one out there too. The red lentils take about 20 minutes to cook and tend to get mushy after they’re done. Green lentils take a bit longer to cook (about 45 minutes) and maintain their shape and texture. If you’re used to cooking with red lentils, you’ll probably think the green lentils are undercooked when you lift the lid of your pot and taste them but they’re not.

IMG_4601

I won’t tell you about the final steps because you’ll have to go out and get her cookbook. It truly is amazing. She recently did a book tour in Canada but only did a few stops. If you’re reading this, Sarah Britton, please please please stop by Edmonton on your next book tour.

The sauce you make for the lentils is SOOOOOOOO yummy! I think that’s the reason why the little one ate all of his dish. The Hubs liked it and I even had some for lunch the next day.

IMG_4604

This dish is so yummy that I will be making this again. I think I might even make it for the in-laws for when they’re here. It’s a super healthy dish, it’s packed with all kinds of flavors, it’s easy, and the little one ate it all. This recipe is under her Autumn section (she divides her cookbook into seasons), but I truly believe this is something you can make and enjoy any time of the year.

Leave a Reply

