Coconut Curry with Rice

I’ve recently discovered Amy Chaplin’s site via My New Roots. I was looking for recipes on My New Roots when she said she used Amy Chaplin’s site when she first started cooking. I love My New Roots, so I figured if she likes it, then I have to try it. I’ve tried a few recipes from Amy Chaplin and so far it’s good. She has a cookbook out called At Home In The Whole Food Kitchen. I’ve seen it in the bookstore but wanted to try some recipes from her site before I actually buy the book.

The coconut curry with brown jasmine rice recipe was easy to make. She actually makes her own coconut milk! I didn’t have time so I opted to use canned coconut milk. I only used one can and that wasn’t enough. I mean it was enough for our purposes but next time I’ll use two cans.

Here’s my adaptation of the recipe.

You start out with lemongrass. Lemongrass is like a woody stalk. It doesn’t smell like a lemon but more like citronella, in my opinion.

IMG_4567 IMG_4568

Under the entry “Coconut & Lemon” from the Flavor Thesaurus, it says:

Coconut gets a refreshingly citric lift from lemongrass. Even if it lacks the sharp acidity of lemon, the vivid citrus-floral character of lemongrass lightens the weighty fattiness of coconut. The lemoniness comes from citral, a combination of two compounds that exists at a low level in the essential oil of lemon and dominates that of lemongrass.

Interesting, huh?

I chopped up the lemongrass and let it simmer in the coconut milk on the stove for as long as the rice was cooking. I didn’t have jasmine rice on hand so I used what we did have and that ended up being basmati rice. Don’t forget to rinse your rice before you cook it!

Once my rice was done cooking, I strained out the lemongrass from the coconut milk. You saute the onions and garlic and throw everything else in along with the coconut milk. I cooked the vegetables until they were tender. I didn’t have turnips or squash. I had half a head of cauliflower leftover from the other day and everything else. That was plenty enough for us. Then you mix in some turmeric and arrowroot or cornstarch to thicken up the sauce a bit. This is the point where I realized I should’ve got two cans of coconut milk instead of one.

IMG_4580

I was finished with everything within an hour, and that included extra simmering time to make sure the vegetables were tender enough. The dish was good and easy to make. I’ll definitely make this again but with two cans of coconut milk. You can try making your own coconut milk, like she does in the recipe, but I just don’t have the time to do it. You serve this over rice and it’s excellent. It’s even good for lunch the next day!

IMG_4582

I should’ve made this recipe today. This comforting curry would be perfect for today as there is about a good eight inches of snow outside. Yes, it’s May but that’s spring in Alberta for ya. It still doesn’t stop me from sighing and thinking “all the flowers back home are already out and were out since March!” Sigh.

Enjoy your hump day!

Leave a Reply

