White Velvet Soup

I found this recipe from My New Roots via Green Kitchen Stories and thought it would be a perfect way for me to reintroduce lima beans. All the other ingredients are ok and I just wanted to reintroduce one thing. Besides, I was curious how cauliflower and lima beans would be in a soup recipe.

In the South, we know lima beans as butter beans. I never really liked them too much as a kid but my Dad did. In fact, my Dad likes any kind of beans but I think pinto beans are his favorite. We never sat too close to him when he did have some beans. I think I remember my Mom kicking him out of the bed a few times because it got so bad. Ah childhood memories.

But butter beans (lima beans) are surprisingly nutrient packed as well. They’re full of something called molybdenum. I don’t know about you but I’ve never heard of molybdenum before. According to World’s Healthiest Foods:

Lima beans are an excellent source of the trace mineral, molybdenum, an integral component of the enzyme sulfite oxidase, which is responsible for detoxifying sulfites. Sulfites are a type of preservative commonly added to prepared foods like delicatessen salads and salad bars. Persons who are sensitive to sulfites in these foods may experience rapid heartbeat, headache or disorientation if sulfites are unwittingly consumed. If you have ever reacted to sulfites, it may be because your molybdenum stores are insufficient to detoxify them.

Ah cauliflower, sometimes I don’t like you and sometimes I do. I can take or leave this vegetable but for something that looks so benign, it’s packed with nutrients. Just have a look at this chart from World’s Healthiest Foods. You can see it’s packed full of vitamins C and K, and vitamin K is an anti-inflammatory nutrient. You can read more about the benefits of cauliflower on the site. Even with all the nutrients it doesn’t stop me from loving it or going out of my way to cook with it.

IMG_4560

When I looked up cauliflower in my Cook’s Wisdom book, I ran across something that I thought was funny. This was the first sentence under the entry for cauliflower:

Mark Twain once described cauliflower as “cabbage with a college education.”

So you start out with a cauliflower and chop it up into bite-size florets and put them on a baking sheet. Chop up an onion and put a few garlic cloves on there as well. You’ll drizzle olive oil on them and sprinkle with salt. Roast them at 400F for 30-40 minutes. I did a happy medium and roasted mine for 35 minutes.

IMG_4562

One of the reasons why I don’t like cooking with cauliflower too much is because it’s messy! As soon as you slice into it the little bitty florets break off and get everywhere. This is what my counter top looked like.

IMG_4561

While the vegetables are roasting, you can kick your feet up for a while. This recipe is really easy to make. Once the vegetables have roasted, you’ll put them in a blender. We have a Vitamix and every single time I pull it or the food processor out, the little one starts to cry. He hates the noise of both of them. Well, he hates the food processor more than the Vitamix. So, when the vegetables were cool enough to touch, I let him put them into the Vitamix. He did end up stuffing a few pieces of cauliflower in his mouth to eat. He tried eating a few onion rings but quickly spat those out.

IMG_4564

You’ll add the lima beans, water, vegetable broth, and lemon juice. Make sure everything is blended and smooth. I left a few chunky pieces in ours because we like chunky soup around here. I did end up pouring this into a pot to warm up again on the stove. She does say that if it’s not warm enough, you can do that. When the soup is at your desired temperature, serve it with a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of smoked paprika. Trust me. The smoked paprika totally makes the soup.

IMG_4566

This soup was perfect and it took no time at all! I was a bit worried because I didn’t read through the recipe, surprise surprise, and thought it would take longer than it did. I was outside playing with the little one all afternoon. He was busy stuffing dandelion flowers in the rain gutter. So I got started on supper a little bit after 4 and finished by 5pm…even with the warming up in a pot! If it’s a weekday and you want a super easy soup, this recipe is you.

I hope you all enjoy your Tuesday! Today is election day in Alberta and I’m curious to see who gets to be Premiere.

Leave a Reply

