Week Four Progress Report

I should start off by saying I’m sorry. I’ve neglected you for an entire week! It wasn’t intentional I promise. The Hubs was out of town until Thursday which isn’t a problem because I usually post while the little one is napping in the afternoons. What really knocked me sideways was the gas I was experiencing. Yes gas. I mean it was like something died in my gut and was slowly rotting. It was that bad. Sorry if it’s TMI for you.

I have no idea what happened. I had some corn tortilla chips and carefully inspected the ingredients. I wanted something salty to snack on that was a close to chips as I could get (remember white potatoes are off the list). The really bad gas started either Sunday or Monday. I thought it was nothing at first and continued to eat the corn chips. Then I thought, “I didn’t get sick I’ll try regular chips.” I bought a bag of Kettle Salt & Pepper chips. Then the gas just grew. I thought maybe it was the potatoes or the safflower (another no-no) oil that was used in the chips. I was careful with what I ate for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I had pretty bland meals in order to give my stomach a break. Another reason why I didn’t post anything for y’all. However, the gas just didn’t let up. I was SO thankful the Hubs was out of town for the worst of it, and I’m pretty sure he’s thankful too.

When the gas didn’t let up I started to think maybe it was the probiotics and other medicine I was taking for my leaky gut. So, yesterday marked week 5. I decided to start reintroducing foods back into my diet because of my medicines is running out and I’m to take it until I reintroduce foods. So, here I am. I started with almonds which is the first thing on my list of foods. I just bought a bag full from the grocery store and I’ve been eating a handful three times a day. I’m writing down the times I eat them and if I feel anything in my food diary. It’s become a habit for me to continue my food diary. So far the gas has let up so maybe it was due to the meds!

Yesterday was probably a bad day to start it. The Hubs made a hamburger and fries for supper and my stomach was bubbly all day. Then I started to feel a bit spaced out after supper. I don’t know if it was the fries or the almonds that made me feel that way. So I decided to try the almond experiment again today. This morning I felt fine but a little bit after lunch I felt a bit spacey. I put a handful of almonds on my salad. We’ll see how I feel again later this evening.

Tomorrow I’ll be introducing green beans. I’m not a huge fan of lima beans or pinto beans so I think I’ll skip reintroducing those two. I bought a can of green beans so I’m just going to sauté them with a bit of salt and pepper and eat them three times a day. There’s nothing like having green beans for breakfast I guess. What I’d really like to do is cook them in some butter with some Lawry’s Seasoned Salt…Southern Style, but that ain’t gonna happen.

I also have some cashews in my pantry and I bought a block of tofu so I could reintroduce soy back into my diet. I don’t know if I’m going to reintroduce egg yolks or not. I’m not sure if I want to reintroduce cola back in. I haven’t drank coke for years! We Southerners say “coke” for everything. After you say “coke,” then you specify which one like Sprite, and you NEVER EVER drink Pepsi if you’re a true Southerner.

I have no idea how I’m going to reintroduce safflower. Do I eat a teaspoon of safflower oil three times a day? I don’t like licorice so I won’t reintroduce that. I guess I’ll cross each food bridge when I get there.

Tonight we’re having chickpea tagine. I hope you all have a fabulous Monday. One day this week I’ll have a post about where vegans get protein. Recently I had a friend ask me that. That’s a very good question actually. So, I’ll pick this up later this week after I do some homework so I can have some sources to back me up.

Leave a Reply

