Chickpea Dumplings in Curry Tomato Sauce

Last night we had this lovely dish from Vegetarian ‘Ventures. I was intrigued by it. Chickpea dumplings? I’ve been wanting to experiment with chickpea flour for a while because it’s gluten free, and everyone in this house loves curry so it was a win-win situation for me. Although, I know how chickpeas have a special effect on the Hubs and I knew he’d be flying out to Ontario the next day (Sorry Hubs!), I really wanted to make this dish.

I made some more vegetable broth yesterday and while I was at it, I decided to try to make some homemade tomato sauce. I only had a few tomatoes but that would work ok. After what happened last week with the hidden gluten, I didn’t want to take a chance (although I decided to take a chance with the chickpea flour). I have a can of tomato sauce, but these are the ingredients listed on the back: tomato paste, water, salt, sugar, citric acid, garlic powder, onion powder, spices, herbs. And this is for just a regular can of tomato sauce with supposedly no herbs.

Making the tomato sauce was SUPER easy. So I’m going to try again but with more tomatoes. I think I only had four to work with which was fine for what I needed it for. I did end up using that can of tomato sauce just because I needed more to cook the dumplings.

I found a HUGE bag of chickpea flour at the grocery store yesterday morning. I was a bit hesitant to buy it because it didn’t say gluten-free. I just wasn’t sure about the product and didn’t know if any wheat starch was being used as an anti-caking agent or what, but I decided to throw caution to the wind and get it. I figured if I was going to get sick at least I’ll get sick while the Hubs is here and he can watch the little one. Plus, I didn’t feel like buying dried chickpeas and making my own flour.

I didn’t have cumin or coriander seeds, so I just used dried cumin and coriander for the recipe. The smell from all of the spices was just wonderful. I’m starting to like this toast-the-spices-first thing that I’ve run across in a few recipes now.

IMG_4509

Then you throw in your tomatoes, turmeric, and ginger. She also says to add some water but I didn’t. I felt like the homemade tomato sauce along with the canned tomatoes were fine. However, if you wish to add water then go ahead. After that you let it simmer for a bit while you work on the chickpea dumplings.

IMG_4510

This is the big bag of chickpea flour I got:

IMG_4511

I told you it was a big bag, and all you need is 1 cup of flour for this recipe. I’ve got to find some other things to make with this. I can’t just let it sit in the cabinet.

The recipe for the dumplings says to use oil and yogurt. I used hemp milk instead of yogurt. I also ran out of cilantro. I did a purge on the fridge earlier that day and threw out the cilantro totally forgetting that I needed it. Oh well. When I mixed everything together, I found the batter to be stiff/sticky. I don’t know if it’s because I didn’t use yogurt or if that’s just the way chickpea flour behaves.

IMG_4514

The recipe says to dump a heaping tablespoon of the batter into the tomato sauce and let it simmer. You’ll need to cover the dish so the dumplings can steam for 5-7 minutes. I found that it took way longer than 5-7 minutes for those little things to steam. The tops didn’t seem to want to steam or cook.

IMG_4515

See how glossy the tops looked? I also had to crank the heat up from a simmer to medium high. I eventually ended up flipping the dumplings so they would cook fully. When I did flip them I saw that the bottom of the dumplings were cooked. It was just the tops that needed a bit of help.

Instead of serving it over rice, I served this with quinoa. I love quinoa and so does the little one. The quinoa adds a hint of a nutty flavor (as if this dish needed any extra flavors!).

IMG_4516

This dish was REALLY good. The little one ate all of his, the Hubs ate all of his, and I finished up what was left. Even if it’s a busy week night, you’ll have time to make this. Whether you decide to serve it with rice or quinoa, start that first because each one needs 20-30 minutes to cook. Then you can get to work on the tomato sauce and dumplings. You’ll be done with everything in half an hour. I’m definitely going to be making this dish again, but I think I’ll add some water to the chickpea batter to thin it out a bit.

I forget what we’re having for supper tonight. On the plus side, I didn’t get sick after supper last night so I know there wasn’t any wheat anywhere. Now I’ve just been paying attention to see if I get really tired which would be a delayed reaction to any gluten in last night’s supper. So far I’m ok. YAY!

Enjoy your Monday!

Leave a Reply

