Week Two Progress Report

Well, I survived week two of my elimination diet. Just barely! I had a MASSIVE craving for a big, greasy, cheesy pizza the other day but I know that ain’t gonna happen. I didn’t think I’d get through week two, but today marks the beginning of week three which is half way there!

It’s hard to find recipes or dishes that I can actually eat. Also, there’s the thing about food in the grocery stores. If you look at the ingredient list, just about everything contains soy, milk, eggs, or brown rice. With recipes, most vegan recipes call for almonds, cashews, flax seeds, mushrooms, or soy. Sigh. Thankfully, by some miracle I made it.

My breakfast still consists of oatmeal. I’m enjoying it actually. I’ve added a teaspoon of vanilla to the mix and it’s good. The little one always comes up to me and asks for some oatmeal. Our local grocery store has hemp milk marked 30% off. I don’t know why but I’m not going to argue. So when we see it marked down, we grab a few cartons and are stocking up every week. I have a feeling that they’ve marked them down to shift them pretty quickly to make room for more rice and soy milk on the shelves. Because I don’t see the hemp milk on the shelves next to the soy and rice milks where it used to be. Either way, we now have like 10 cartons of hemp milk in my pantry.

Lunch is usually some quinoa, salad, one tablespoon of sunflower seeds, one tablespoon of walnuts, one tablespoon of chia seeds, lemon juice, and olive oil. It might sound like an odd mixture but it works for me. I get protein from the quinoa and all of the nuts and seeds. I use lemon juice and olive oil instead of salad dressing. I’ll sprinkle some pepper on top of my salad too. It keeps me full until dinner, so I must be doing something right.

Dinner has been a mixture of things. I’ve mainly cooked from My New Roots. The Hubs and the little one seem to like the dishes I prepare. The Hubs has even gone so far as to say that they’re tasty! I do get frustrated with some things though. For instance, because I can’t have a lot of things, I have to research what dishes I can have for the week. It’s not like I can say “oh we’ll just have spaghetti” and buy a jar of pasta sauce, spaghetti, and beef. Besides the obvious (beef and pasta), a jar of pasta sauce has a whole bunch of stuff in it. There’s all kinds of seasonings, cheese, and sometimes milk. I did buy cans of crushed or diced tomatoes and try to make my own version of pasta sauce, but even canned tomatoes has a bunch of “spices” in them that I don’t really trust. They labels don’t say what particular spices are used, it just says “spices.” So, this week I just bought a bunch of tomatoes instead of canned tomatoes. So my point is, I really have to watch what ingredients are in my foods. I can’t go for the easily-packaged, processed foods anymore. I have to make my own stuff because I don’t trust what’s in the packaged foods.

Buckwheat flour is another rant. Well, buckwheat flour and buckwheat noodles. My local grocery stores don’t carry buckwheat noodles. They just carry rice noodles or wheat noodles. So, I went to a Korean grocery store. I looked at all of the buckwheat noodle brands they carry and every single one of them has wheat mixed in. I had a rant about this to my Mom the other day. She never realized that wheat was in them either.

Despite it’s name, buckwheat is gluten-free and it’s super healthy for you. It’s not like rice noodles or vermicelli noodles. It’s shorter, brownish in color, and has a different texture. I grew up eating those noodles. They’re a bit chewy but they’re REALLY good. If I could find a pack buckwheat noodles that’s pure buckwheat, I’d buy a whole bunch. But alas, that’s not going to happen.

Buckwheat flour is something that I’ve run across in a lot of gluten-free recipes. It’s a good alternative to regular wheat flour. However, (surprise surprise) I can’t find it anywhere. Maybe it’s because the Prairies here in Canada is still a bit backwards in terms of food. Wait, let me explain. Think of Texas ok? Now think Texas and steak and potatoes kind of people. That’s like here. They call Alberta the “Texas of the North.” Alberta is all about the beef. Being health conscious and concerned/interested about the origins of your food isn’t something that’s caught on here just yet. Well, I shouldn’t say that. The idea is out there and there are some people who are health conscious but the majority of the Prairie folk are steak and potatoes kind of people. Not that there’s anything wrong with it. If that’s how they want to eat and they’re happy like that, then more power to them. I believe people should be happy with the way they eat as long at they’re healthy. I’m complaining because finding other good foods is hard to come by because of the way the majority of the Prairie population eat. Thankfully, I’ve managed to find some buckwheat and I’m just going to make my own flour.

On the plus side of week two, I’m not taking my HCL pills anymore. The HCL pills were to help with my stomach acid. I was to take them until I felt heartburn and then cut down. I got up to 6 pills at one point. These aren’t little pills. These are big horse pills and I was taking 6 at a time. Then sometimes one or two would go down sideways in my throat. It was starting to get to me…taking all those pills. But thankfully, I started to feel heartburn and got down to one and then finally got off of them for good. I’m still taking the probiotics and glutamine though. I’m to take those until I start reintroducing foods back into my diet.

I hope week three goes better than week two. And I’m also not sure when I should start reintroducing foods. Should I do it at week 4, week 5, or go all the way to week 6? I don’t know if I can last all the way to week 6. We’ll see how things go I guess.

I hope you enjoy your Sunday. I’m currently watching the final round of the Masters.

Leave a Reply

