Cream of Tomato Soup

Last night we had tomato soup for supper. We’re getting our taxes done this afternoon right around supper time, so I figured the tomato soup would make enough to have leftovers.

In the Oh She Glows cookbook, her recipe is cream of tomato soup with roasted Italian chickpea croutons. I didn’t do the chickpea croutons because I didn’t have time. I was too busy trying to find a gluten-free, soy-free substitute for soy sauce. Not being able to have soy sauce is disappointing because I eat tofu and my mom is Korean for crying out loud. You’re supposed to bake your chickpeas for 20 minutes, so I decided to leave them out.

I did glance over this recipe yesterday morning and knew I had to soak some cashews. So, I put some in a bowl with water that morning. That way they had more than 4 hours (minimum) to soak.

Let me just mention that this recipe has some things that I’m not supposed to: oregano, thyme, and cashews. I did feel EXTREMELY tired right after supper. I’ve felt that way several times before and never even thought to attribute that to any of the foods I ate. It all makes sense now!

Ok, so the recipe. You put the cashews and broth into a blender and blend it. The cashews are what gives the soup its creaminess and thickens it up a bit.

IMG_4390

One piece of advice: when you’re ready to turn your blender on, make sure it’s not at the highest setting. I turned ours on and it was at the highest setting and it scared the living daylights out of me.

Once your cashews are blended, you go to work on sautéing your vegetables. Then you add those to the blender along with the herbs, spices, and tomatoes. Then you pour that into a pot and let it cook for a bit.

IMG_4392

Once I was happy with the way the soup tasted and it got the thumbs up from the Hubs and little one, I made some grilled cheese sandwiches to go along with it. Tomato soup and a grilled cheese sandwich go together like peanut butter and jelly. They’re just perfect for each other. The little one had fun dipping his sandwich into his soup. Plus he ate all of his soup.

The recipe says it makes 8 cups. I think there’s enough leftover for one adult. I think next time I’ll double the recipe so I can have some to freeze. I also didn’t have any tomato paste. That probably helps to thicken up the soup a bit but I thought the consistency was fine.

I also drizzled an herb de provence olive oil to my soup. I just LOVE herb de provence.

IMG_4393

Herb de provence is a mix of herbs typically used in cooking in the southeastern region of France. If you google it, you’ll find different recipes for making your own herb de provence, but the common herbs used are: thyme, rosemary, savory, marjoram, and oregano. You’ll see lavender but it’s usually only used in the mix for the American market. If you’ve never heard of savory, you’re not alone. I’ve never heard of this herb either. Apparently it’s a herb that has a thyme-like flavor and is used quite a bit. You can read about here on the Kitchn.

IMG_4394

I got my oil from Evoolution. It’s a local store that carries all kinds of olive oils and balsamic vinegars from around the world and with different flavors. I could spend ages in that store. There’s tins of the different oils and vinegars and there’s bread so you can taste them. I usually get a sample pack that has several small bottles of different flavors (you can get oils and vinegars, just oil, or just vinegar). The pack has flavor cards that tells you about the oil or vinegar and gives you suggested pairings and how to use it. I love this place!

So, the drizzle of the herb de provence olive oil just took my good ol’ tomato soup to a whole other level. It added so much flavor to an otherwise “plain” bowl of tomato soup. I don’t want to call it plain because it’s not plain on its own. But the oil did add so much more to it.

With that said, I thought this dish was easy and quick to make. Throwing everything into the blender just made cooking the soup SO much faster instead of using an immersion blender. I’m definitely going to make this again but in a bigger batch.

I’m not sure if I’ll post tomorrow. I’m still trying to do some research on things I can have, so I might talk about that. Tonight is just going to be leftovers since we’re getting our taxes done. FUN! Since I’m an American citizen, I still have to file. I file in Canada and with the IRS. However, since I pay taxes here in Canada I don’t pay in the U.S. Basically the IRS just wants to know if I’m paying taxes. If I’m not paying taxes here then the IRS will want me to pay them. Fun huh?

I hope you all enjoy your Friday!

Leave a Reply

