Daikon Ramen

I grew up eating ramen and we learned to pronounce it as rah-me-yan. That’s how my momma says it. She’s Korean so she should know. So I cringe when I hear people say it as rah-men. When I was flipping through Ali Maffucci’s Inspiralized cookbook, I was excited when I came across this recipe because sometimes I miss having ramen. In the book, the recipe is Daikon Ramen with Skirt Steak, but I left the skirt steak part out. I was going to make the skirt steak for the Hubs and little one but I forgot to go to the butcher, so they had to do without.

Daikon radish is mainly used in Asian cuisine. I remember it from my childhood as Korean yellow kimchi. It’s just a pickled daikon radish but has a yellow color after the process (my mom says that color is added in). I was nervous about this recipe because I didn’t know how the daikon would be as noodles. So I bought some rice noodles as a backup for the Hubs and little one.

The recipe calls for one medium daikon, but my grocery store had a huge one!

IMG_4376

You peel the daikon, chop the ends off, and slice it in half. Then you get to work with your spiralizer (or spirooli in my case).

IMG_4377

IMG_4383

Once you’re done making your daikon noodles, you start your vegetables. I couldn’t find one bunch of bok choy, so I got a bag of baby bok choy. Which is fine, I just had to guess at the amount that I would need to make up for one bok choy. Then you get your mushrooms and other ingredients. Sorry. I can’t tell you the full list of ingredients because you’ll have to go out and get her book.

IMG_4387

I had to adjust my seasoning and add salt because one of the things I love about ramen is the saltiness. So, I added some salt and more soy sauce (I use tamari) to mine. Also, I had the Hubs make me some gluten-free hoison sauce. Because she calls for it in her recipe and I thought that the sauce would add some good flavor to the broth, I decided we should have some even if we weren’t having the steak. If you’d like the gluten-free hoisin sauce recipe, it’s on food.com. Traditional hoisin sauce has wheat in it. So, if you’re allergic, celiac, or sensitive to wheat this homemade recipe is good. It makes a small amount too so you won’t have your sauce sitting in the cabinet for ages until you use it the next time.

Once I had my seasoning just right, you add the daikon noodles and then let them cook until the desired doneness.

IMG_4388

Once I felt that they were done, I put some in a bowl and then drizzled on the hoisin sauce. This is the little one’s bowl.

IMG_4389

I let the little one taste the broth as I was cooking it so I knew he’d like that, but it was the daikon noodles that I was really nervous about. I was ready to go in the pantry and grab the rice noodles just incase. But my fears were unfounded. He liked it and got mad at the Hubs when he was too slow at feeding him. We were both kind of shocked. The child will try anything once. He even ate the bok choy! Granted I had to cut up everything for him with some scissors so he could eat it, but he ate it happily! The Hubs liked his and I liked it. It’s definitely worth making again and it was quick. The only thing that took some time was spiralizing the daikon but that really didn’t take too long. It’s not like cooking a packet of ramen for five minutes or anything, but this is a quick dish. If you’re serving the steak there might be some time added but that’s ok.

Tonight we’re having a creamy tomato soup, but I just got my test results back about my mysterious illness. So I might talk about that tomorrow instead.

I hope you all have a wonderful hump day!

Leave a Reply

