Creamy Avocado Pasta and Apple Crumble

Yesterday I made two dishes from the Oh She Glows cookbook. I made the 15 minute creamy avocado pasta and the vegan apple crumble called Mother Nature’s Apple Crumble. Unfortunately, I didn’t get any photos of the finished apple crumble. You can see the photos on my instagram though. I’m lizzimclean1 if you want to find me.

The apple crumble was surprisingly easy to make. I’ve never made an apple crumble before so I didn’t know what to expect. Most apple crumble recipes call for A LOT of butter and some flour. The Oh She Glows recipe only had simple ingredients: apple, cinnamon, oats, and some other things that I can’t mention because you’ll just have to get the book. The only time-consuming part was peeling and chopping up the apples. I had the little one and the dog asking for apples. (Our dog loves apples, banana, blueberries, carrots, and strawberries.)

Other than those two hovering around me, the process of putting everything together was simple and easy. You bake it for about 45 minutes covered with some tin foil, and then remove the tin foil and bake it some more for about 15 minutes. I served it with vanilla flavored coconut ice cream. Let me tell you, it was heavenly!! The little one loved it and got made when I was too slow in feeding it to him.

But now for the main dish: 15 Minute Creamy Avocado Pasta. Instead of pasta the Hubs and I had spaghetti squash. The little one had penne. If you’ve never cooked with a spaghetti squash before, it’s a nice alternative to carbs and sugar from regular pasta. Or maybe you’re tired of eating gluten-free pasta (I get that way sometimes).

You’ll slice your squash in half and scoop out the seeds and stuff. Preparing a spaghetti squash is VERY similar to preparing a butternut squash because they’re in the same family.

IMG_4368

IMG_4367

IMG_4369

Once you scoop all of that stuff out, you’ll put in a roasting pan. Drizzle some olive oil all over the flesh and sprinkle some salt and pepper on it. One tip: remove the sticker that’s on your squash before roasting it.

IMG_4370

Pour some water into the pan. That way the squash won’t burn. I put 1/4 cup of water in but I think that was too little. You’ll roast the squash at 400F for 30 minutes.

When the squash was done, I started to work on the avocado sauce. That way the squash would have time to cool so I could touch it. I’ve never really liked avocado in the past. It was only recently that I started to like them. I used avocados instead of mayonnaise on my sandwiches when I was pregnant with the little one and I’ve loved them ever since.

Here was my beloved Flavor Thesaurus has to say about avocados:

No wonder it’s hard to stop grazing on avocados: they taste like grass and have the texture of butter. Delicate avocado goes well with other subtly flavored ingredients, such as mozzarella and crustaceans; the latter love the light anise note in avocado flesh. Often buried under stronger flavors, like lime and garlic, the flavor of avocado arguably runs second to its lovely, unctuous texture, and the cooling, fatty quality it brings to sandwiches, salads and salsas. Avocado oil is even more delicately flavored than the flesh, and lacks the grassy note, for which you’d be advised to see out an olive oil instead.

I never thought of avocados as having a “grassy note.” Now that I think about it, I can see how she came to that conclusion. I probably won’t ever eat an avocado without thinking about this now.

While the squash was roasting, I put just one garlic clove into a food processor (she says 1 to 2 cloves). I didn’t want it to have an overpowering garlic taste. Besides, I was going running later and I didn’t want to burp up garlic every time and have the people around me suffer.

Next, I threw in some basil leaves. She calls for 1/4 cup but I think I threw in more. Then I squeezed in the juice of half of a lemon, the olive oil, and the avocado.

IMG_4372

The only thing I found with this is that next time I’ll use a mini food processor instead of my regular one. I think that because there was so little of the sauce for it to properly blend, some of the avocado bits didn’t get mashed up all the way. Those bits didn’t bother me but it did the Hubs because he’s not a real fan of avocados. If you’re not bothered about it not getting mashed up all the way then use your regular processor. If you have a non fan in your house, you might want to use a mini processor or mash it up with a fork afterwards.

When I was done with the sauce, I went to work on the squash, you’ll drag a fork across the flesh of the squash and then that comes out looking like noodles.

IMG_4373

I find that one squash is perfect for two servings. One half is one serving. Just be aware that you might not have leftovers for lunch the next day. Once you scrape all of the squash out, put some of the avocado sauce on top and grate the zest of a lemon over it. You can leave this part out, but the lemon zest really makes the sauce pop. I put some basil leaves on top as a garnish/presentation. You don’t have to, but if you’re making this to impress someone…do it.

IMG_4374

This dish was so good! The little one had 1 1/2 bowls of his and the apple crumble. I fed him the leftover pasta for lunch today and he got mad because there was no more. I was full all night, even after going to the gym later that night. I loved the creaminess of the avocado sauce. Next time, I’ll try using two avocados instead of just one. It’s just because I love them and wanted more of the sauce.

Another thing is that this is perfect for a weeknight if you’re tired from work or have to take the kids to practice. If you use pasta, this dish could be prepared in a snap.

If you’d like the recipe, this one is on her website: Oh She Glows.

Tonight we’ll be having daikon ramen from the Insprialized cookbook. I think the Hubs and I are both a little nervous about this one. I’m not sure how using a daikon as noodles will work, but there’s only one way to find out!

Enjoy your Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

