Teriyaki Salmon Balls with Ginger-Pineapple Rice

Last night we had this recipe from Ali Maffucci’s new cookbook Inspiralized. Before you say anything, yes this is a blog about trying to be a good vegan and about trying out vegan recipes. However, as I’ve said before, I feel the Hubs and the little one make compromises to eat the vegan dishes I make. They didn’t make the choice to be a vegan. I’m the only one who made that choice. So, from time-to-time I will make compromises and eat meat.

The Hubs cooked dinner while I did the laundry and watched after the little one. One piece of advice he did tell me was to buy bigger carrots when you want to cook this recipe. I think we got little ones. Another piece of advice I might add: use thawed out broccoli. The Hubs didn’t thaw out the frozen broccoli florets and it made for a loud session with the food processor.

IMG_4298

You’ll roll the salmon mix into balls and bake them for a few minutes, then turn them over and brush on her teriyaki sauce and then let them bake a little more.

IMG_4305

IMG_4307

I will tell you, while these salmon balls were cooking they filled the house with a wonderful aroma. When he put the teriyaki sauce on them, the aroma was just kicked up a notch. Here they are fully cooked.

IMG_4311Then the Hubs started on the “rice.” The “rice” is a fabulous way to get your little one to eat their vegetables if they’re a picky eater. Thankfully, my little one will try anything once and is a good eater (knock on wood).

IMG_4310

The pineapple in the “rice” gives it a nice acidity and sweetness and it makes you forget your “rice” is actually carrots. I didn’t even taste the ginger in it at all. Maybe it’s because we had a can of big pineapple chunks (I already had it in the pantry). Either way, the “rice” was delicious. Plus, it had beautiful colors.

IMG_4312

This is what my portion looked like. Don’t freak and think “This is so little. How is this supposed to fill me up?” Trust me when I say this, it does fill you up. I suspect the salmon balls help fill you up, but the little portion does really suffice. Besides, sometimes we need to practice portion control in this house.

The dish was absolutely delicious. Using the carrots is such a great way to cut down on carbs and rice (if that’s your goal). If it’s not, it’s a good way to get some good nutrients anyway. This dish is very Hawaiian and would be perfect for a summer evening out on the deck, but would really be good anytime of the year. I’ll definitely make this again…or make the Hubs cook it again. The best part about this dish is that the little one couldn’t stop eating his food. He ate every bit of it!

I would highly recommend getting Maffucci’s book and making this dish as soon as you do. I might even invest in a proper sprializer instead of the cheapo spirooli I have.

Tonight we’re going to have butternut squash risotto from Deliciously Ella. The little one has his 18 month vaccinations this afternoon so we’ll see if I get around to making this or if it’s going to be something else for supper tonight.

I hope you all have a wonderful Monday!

Leave a Reply

