Enlightened Miso Power Bowl

Last night, I started this dish from Oh She Glows and finished it by 4:45! This has got to be a record for me. Having supper done early two nights in a row. I’ve probably just jinxed myself and it won’t happen again for a while. Oh well.

The only part of this recipe that took the longest was baking the sweet potatoes. Which is fine because I let my quinoa cook while they were baking.

IMG_4293

In the back of her book, Angela Liddon has a chart about cooking different grains and lentils. It tells you the dry amount, water amount, tips, time, and yield. So, according to her tips for cooking quinoa, I decided to cook mine using vegetable broth. I remember the first time I made quinoa I cooked it in vegetable broth and the little one liked it, so that’s why I decided to do it again.

This bowl has an orange-maple miso dressing. It was easy to do but my tahini had separated. Don’t freak if you open your jar of tahini and see a bunch of oil sitting at the top. It’s common for natural nut butters to do this.

IMG_4295

There are a few tricks to get the oil from going to the top. You can put your jar upside down for a while before you start your dish, or you can lay it on its side as this tip from the Kitchn says. I didn’t find this tip until today, so I just got a teaspoon and stirred and stirred and stirred to mix everything together.

IMG_4296

Apparently if you put your newly mixed jar in the fridge, it won’t separate again. I think I put mine in the fridge. I need to go check.

You mix your dressing all together by putting it in a little food processor/blender. Because you’re working with tahini and miso, both of which have a pretty thick texture, you’ll want to blend everything together nicely so it has a smooth texture.

IMG_4297

I had some frozen edamame that I just poured hot water on to cook. I grated my carrot again. When your sweet potatoes and done baking, your quinoa should be done cooking as well. Quinoa only takes about 20 minutes to cook. You scoop your quinoa in a bowl and then assemble. I wish I had taken a picture of the final product with my camera. If you want to see the final product, you’ll have to see it on my instagram. I should’ve gotten a picture with my regular camera. I don’t know what I was thinking. I guess I was just excited that I got supper done early and that everything was coming together nicely.

This dish was SO good. I was surprised at how good it turned out. I didn’t really know what to expect and I should be ashamed because everything she has is good. It was simple to make, it’s healthy, and it’s PERFECT for lunch the next day. A bonus is that I was full all night last night. I didn’t want to grab a handful of pistachios to snack on by the time 8 o’clock rolled around.

There were a few ingredients I didn’t use that she recommends. I didn’t use them because I was also feeding this dish to an 18 month-old child. By the way, I ended up just giving him plain quinoa and the sweet potatoes with some carrot. He didn’t like the miso dressing too much. But that’s ok because that meant more for me and it meant I had some leftover for lunch. I finished it all off this afternoon so I guess the Hubs doesn’t get to have any when he gets home this afternoon. Oh well.

Since the Hubs has been in San Diego this week, his stomach hasn’t felt too good. I guess he’s inadvertently become a vegan. Whenever he gets the chance to eat anything processed or eat meat, his body doesn’t agree with it. He always asks me for something vegan so he can detox when he gets home. So tonight, I’m just going to do a fried rice with some pan-fried tofu. Here’s a link from Maangchi if you’re interested in trying to make some. Actually, you should. It’s really good. I use her site a lot whenever I want to make something Korean. Because tonight is a simple dish, tomorrow will be a no post day. However, you can always visit my instagram or my twitter: lizzimclean.

I hope everyone enjoys their Friday the 13th!

Leave a Reply

