Black and Kidney Bean Chili

Last night the little one and I had black and kidney bean chili from Deliciously Ella. It was a double whammy of beans because it had black beans and kidney beans. I tried not to give the little one too much of the beans so his guts wouldn’t explode. The Hubs is in San Diego this week, so I’m doing the whole diaper duty thing.

As always, I didn’t really read through the recipe so I thought since this is a chili it would take a while. I started early and ended up having supper done by 4:45 pm!!! With that said, this dish is obviously easy to make and is perfect for in the middle of the week. The only thing that took me a while to do was peeling the garlic and grating the carrots.

I have a manicure (from my birthday) so it’s hard to really peel the garlic. There is a trick though. Break apart your garlic bulb and peel as much off of the cloves as you can. Then put them in a bowl of water over night and they should peel off super easy. I remember seeing my mom do this when I was a kid. There was always a bowl of garlic cloves soaking in our kitchen. If your fingers smell like garlic, simply rub them on the inside of your stainless steel sink. You can rub them on anything that’s stainless steel really.

IMG_4286

The next “tedious” step in the recipe was grating the carrot. (Yes, there’s a chip in my plate.)

IMG_4287

For me, every time a carrot is involved the task automatically becomes hard. Why? Because my dog LOVES carrots. He seems to know as soon as I open the drawer in the fridge that I’m going to pull out the carrot(s). Sometimes I haven’t even physically put my hand on the carrot(s) and he just knows that’s what I’m going to go for. It’s like he smells it all the way upstairs! So, I have to watch where I step because he’s just waiting for a piece of carrot or for me to drop a piece. (I usually always give him some.) Then there’s the make-sure-you-don’t-grate-your-fingertips-off thing. Now that the little one likes grated carrots (it’s easier for him to chew), I had him and the dog to deal with while trying to keep my fingers intact.

With this recipe, instead of using olive oil, I decided to use coconut oil. Coconut oil has a higher smoke point than olive oil so the properties of the oil doesn’t break down as quickly.

IMG_4288

Olive oil is usually used to drizzle over salads and basically put a finishing touch on things. If you want to know which oils you should be using for which type of method of cooking, check out this article from the Huffington Post. It’s actually pretty good. If you’re more of a visual person and like pictures and charts, here’s one from Lifehacker for you.

I had some leftover rice I made Monday night, so I just used that. I just threw the rice into the pan with the beans and vegetables so the rice would heat up.

IMG_4291

The little one LOVED this dish! He actually got mad at me a few times when I was too slow feeding him. So, I guess I’ll be making this one again. I liked the dish. It was tasty, easy/simple, quick, and healthy. I can’t wait to try out some other recipes of hers.

Tonight, we’ll be having the Enlightened Miso Power Bowl from Oh She Glows. I need to give the little one’s guts a break for a bit since he had two types of beans and once last night.

Leave a Reply

