The Perfected Chickpea Salad Sandwich

I apologize for not posting a few times. Sunday night the Hubs made the maple pumpkin baked bean cornbread casserole that I’ve made before. Then Monday night I decided to give the little one’s guts a break from beans, so I just defrosted some leftover vegan no-bone broth, that I made, and paired that with rice and seaweed. Last night we had the Perfected Chickpea Salad Sandwich from Angela Liddon’s new cookbook.

IMG_4278

I should tell you that all this week, I will be making recipes from the Oh She Glows cookbook, and Ella Woodward’s cookbook Deliciously Ella. Because I’ll be cooking from those books, I don’t think I can tell you the step-by-step process to make the dishes. However, I’ll do my best to give you an overview and a review of the recipes.

When I was flipping through the cookbook, I came across this recipe and it reminded me of how I missed a good egg salad, tuna salad, and chicken salad sandwich. Even Angela discusses how she used to eat a chicken salad sandwich before she became a vegan. So, I was itching to make this recipe.

This recipe is so stupidly easy to make and there’s nothing to cook! I wasn’t standing over the stove while having the little one tugging on my pants while worrying something hot would splash or spill on him. I was happily standing over the island working away while he was near me playing with his toys (the Hubs is in San Diego this week).

I prepared all the vegetables that needed to be chopped, and I chopped some glorious pickles. I LOVE pickles. I wanted to add a lot but I stuck with her instructions.

IMG_4281

IMG_4280

I have one complaint though. Not about the recipe or cookbook. The complaint is about the lack of big pickles (in my local grocery store). Back home, I could find HUGE jars of decent sized dill pickles. However, I’m not having such luck here in Edmonton. I can find small jars with small dill pickles. I think I found a big jar with decent sized pickles ONCE. Just once! Everything else are flavored pickles like garlic. I want old-fashioned pickles in a big jar and have the pickles to be a decent size. That’s all I ask.

Once I was done chopping up all of the vegetables and pickles, I mixed it all together with the chickpeas. Then I waited for the fries to cook. I actually got everything done and the fries were done cooking by 4:55 pm. That usually never happens. The little one didn’t care for the sandwich too much. I guess the raw celery is too strong a flavor for him just yet. However, I LOVED mine and I had three sandwiches for lunch today (gluten-free bread slices are tiny).

IMG_4283

I’m totally going to make this for the Hubs one weekend for lunch. This sandwich was just so good. Tonight we’re going to have Black and Kidney Bean Chili from Deliciously Ella.

I’ve honestly never heard of this girl (Ella Woodward from Deliciously Ella) before but my sister-in-law sent me her cookbook for my birthday along with the Oh She Glows and Inspiralized cookbooks. I was at a point wondering whether I should just be a vegetarian because I was in a slump with my recipe repertoire. Yeah, I have a few sources that I always go to but I was getting bored, and there’s only so much time I can spend on Pintrest before getting sucked in the rabbit hole and lose a few hours of my life. Also, because of this strange sickness I’ve been staying away from wheat. So, on top of the stress from wondering what’s wrong with me and the wondering if I should be a vegetarian, these cookbooks came at a good time because it’s revived my interest in eating a good plant-based/vegan diet. To put it shortly, I’m excited about being a vegan again.

If you get discouraged, in a rut, or bored have heart. There’s light at the end of the tunnel. I’ve been where you are. Soon something will come along and get you excited about eating a plant-based/vegan diet again. Stay the course my fellow vegans!

Leave a Reply

