The Long Awaited Quiche

I had picked out this Sun dried Tomato, Mushroom, and Spinach Tofu Quiche from the lovely Oh She Glows for earlier this week. I looked and sounded divine. The only thing was that it seemed like it was pretty labor intensive because you make the crust from scratch, and that was scaring me from doing it during the week. I’d have to start working on it early and use the food processor, which scares the living daylights out of the little one. One of us has to take the little one upstairs or to play in the basement while the other is using the food processor.

To make the crust, you grind up some almonds and oats into a flour. You mix in your flax egg as the binder along with some spices. I didn’t have dried parsley, so I used two teaspoons of Italian Seasoning instead of the oregano and parsley. It came out fine.

Flax egg is an egg substitute for vegans. You can buy ready ground flax seeds or ground them up yourself. I buy them already ground because it’s WAY easier. For one egg, you use one tablespoon of ground flax seeds and three tablespoons of water. Then you just let it sit and gel up.

IMG_4259

When making the crust, I had a bit of a problem. In the end I found my crust was a bit too dry and ultimately turned out a bit crumbly. Next time I’ll be sure to read through all of the ingredients add the water. I totally didn’t see the very last line of ingredients needed for the crust.

IMG_4265

You bake your crust for about 13-16 minutes, according to the recipe. I baked mine for the full 16 minutes. Then you set it aside to cool.

While my crust was cooling, I got to work on all of the vegetables and herbs. I chopped up the onion, garlic, spinach, sun dried tomatoes, chives, and basil. I, thankfully, bought mushrooms that were already sliced. I totally forgot that I did. I love using fresh basil. It doesn’t look like anything special but the smell is just lovely. This is what the Flavor Thesaurus says. (I just love this book!)

Sweet basil is the warmest, most fragrant, beautiful, fresh and irritatingly likeable of herbs. It has strong notes of spice–cloves, cinnamon, anise and tarragon–combined with a minty grassiness that’s particularly noticeable when it is pulverized in quantity  to make pesto. Basil comes in many “flavor variants,” such as lemon, lime, cinnamon and the licorice-flavored Thai basil, all of which share a rich spiciness and an enlivening freshness. Dried basil is no substitute for fresh, but it’s not to be sniffed at. Sure, with drying, the beautiful, perfumed top note disappears, but carefully dried basil develops a spicy, licorice-like, mint character that works well in fish stews or baked lamb dishes.

I told you. That book is fabulous, isn’t it? Ok. Here’s a photo of the vegetables and herbs together. They just look pretty all on their own!

IMG_4270

Then I worked on the tofu. I sliced up my tofu block and squeezed the water out with a kitchen towel. Then I broke up those slices into blocks and threw them in my food processor. You let it go until it really does start to look creamy.

IMG_4269

I left my tofu to sit where it was and worked on sautéing the vegetables. You sauté the onions (or leeks if you’re using them) and garlic first. Then you toss in your mushrooms. Once they’re cooked you throw everything else in just until the spinach wilts.

IMG_4272

Once your spinach has wilted and you’re happy with the way your vegetables cooked, remove the pan from the heat and mix in your tofu. Taste your filling and add salt and pepper to your taste. When the season is to your liking, spread it onto your crust.

IMG_4274

Now, you let it bake for 33-37 minutes, according to the recipe. I think I let mine bake for about 35 minutes. When it comes out, it looks like a thing of glory. It was just so pretty and looked like I had used eggs.

IMG_4275

Doesn’t it just look divine? It filled the kitchen with a wonderful aroma. And to top it off, it looks like the photo Angela Liddon has on her Oh She Glows site. I love that woman.

Tonight we’re going to have another one of her recipes. We’re going to have the pumpkin maple baked bean cornbread casserole. I’ve made this before. You can read about here, so tomorrow will be a day off from posting. I’ll be making the casserole the night before the Hubs flies for San Diego for the week. I hope the air pressure change and the beans won’t bother his seat partner too much. HA!

Next week, I’ll be making recipes from some new cookbooks I got for my birthday. I got the Deliciously Ella cookbook (which I was thrilled to receive because she’s gluten-free as well), the Inspiralized cookbook (I’ve been wanting to use my spiralizer with other vegetables), and Angela Liddon‘s cookbook. I’m excited to be cooking out of the three books because they’re all so fabulous! If you’ve never heard of these three ladies, I highly recommend you check out their websites:

Deliciously Ella

Inspiralized

Oh She Glows

Leave a Reply

