Honest

I apologize for not posting since Tuesday. As y’all know, I had a naturopath appointment Tuesday evening to see what foods (if there are any) that aren’t agreeing with me. The appointment went well but also left me scared. But let me give you some background first.

Years ago, I would develop this really intensely itchy rash. It would start on my shins and you can see it grow as it climbed up my legs. I remember one Christmas, at my Dad’s, I had to use some calamine lotion. That gave me a bit of a relief but it didn’t give my mind any relief. I thought I was allergic to water because I had just taken a shower.

Fast forward another few years to 2012. I was still having this rash but this time it wasn’t confined to my legs. Sometimes it would start in my scalp and at other times, it’d start on my arms. I didn’t know what was wrong with me. I thought I was allergic to our laundry detergent, my shower gel, my shampoo and conditioner, and my lotion. So, I changed all of them. I switched to a non-scented detergent and I switched out my body products, but nothing helped. The only thing I could do was take a Reactine. It’s an antihistamine here in Canada. It’s kind of like Claritin but it works WAY faster…like 20 minutes. It takes Claritin a day for it to work for me. I needed something to work fast with the rash. Reactine says on the box that it takes 20 minutes to work, and it does! So, here I am thinking I’m allergic to water or some specific ingredient in my body products that I just can pinpoint. So, all I could do was take a Reactine.

Then I found out I was pregnant with the little one at the end of 2012. I kept taking the Reactine throughout my pregnancy (my doc said it was safe to take). After the little one was born, he was a fussy baby. I had done some research online, the Hubs calls is self-diagnosing, and saw several results mentioning that dairy could cause gas and just all around not agree with your baby. So, at one of his checkups, I mentioned that we might think he’s colicky and should I cut out dairy to see if that works. The doc said it wouldn’t hurt. So, that’s what I did. I cut out all dairy. I noticed a change in myself immediately. I felt better and the rashes disappeared!! After all this time, it was dairy that was causing my rashes! The little one was still a bit fussy but we lived through it.

I would scour the ingredient list on everything I bought. I had a box of Lactaid at the ready if I just couldn’t resist something that had dairy in it. I always have a box of Reactine available too.

However, at the beginning of this year, the Lactaid stopped working for me. Then I started to develop some strange symptoms: I’d feel drunk after eating when I had no alcohol. I’d also get queasy too. I didn’t know what was wrong, and at the moment I still don’t. When I’d feel “drunk,” I’d feel a bit spaced out and if I looked somewhere I felt like my vision wasn’t quite caught up with my eyes. Does that make sense? It was like I was underwater. Looking back through my food diary, the only thing I can pinpoint the drunk feeling to is wheat. So, I’ve tried really hard to cut out wheat from my diet and I haven’t feel sick since I’ve done it.

There was one time on Valentine’s Day where I did get sick. We went to a vegan restaurant here in town and I had the butter “chicken” and waffles. The waffles were gluten-free but the “chicken” wasn’t. If you’re reading the labels of vegan meat, you know that there is wheat in them. So, that’s why I think I got sick. It was my own fault for not asking about the “chicken,” and I paid dearly for it. Two hours after I ate, I was sick as a dog for the rest of the day. I mean it hit me hard.

I went to my doctor and he sent me for a blood test to see if I’m allergic to the five common foods: milk, nuts, eggs, fish, and soy/wheat. Now, my doc had tested me for Celiacs in early 2012 because I was complaining of the rashes and that came back negative. So, this time I was expecting a result. With my doctor, if he doesn’t contact you, then everything is ok. It’s a “no news is good news” policy with him. Three weeks go by and I haven’t heard a word from my doc and I’m still feeling sick. So, I decided to bite the bullet and make an appointment with a naturopath. A few friends of mine have had great success with their naturopath, so I said why not?

The naturopath said that my doctor tested for the five common food allergies, but the test he ran was a very black or white one. So that explains why my doc never called back. The test that the naturopath did tests a two other immunoglobulins. So they get grayer and I’m hoping these will be able to pick up something. He also said that since I haven’t consumed dairy in a while the test that my doc did might not have picked it up. Which kind of makes sense.

I’ve been stressing about my strange illness since January. I’ve stopped running because I’ve been ill. My goal this year was to run in a 10k and a half marathon, but it’s looking like that might not happen. I don’t know. The Edmonton Marathon is in August. I’m hoping that I can find out what’s wrong so I can stop putting my life on hold, stop stressing, and so people won’t think I’m crazy and making this stuff up.

I shall keep y’all posted on the results. On a brighter note, I did buy some new makeup to that cheered me up some. There’s nothing like makeup that can lift my spirits. Well, I shouldn’t say that. I can think of a few other things that would cheer me up. Anyways, tonight we’re having potato and chive soup. So, I’ll post that tomorrow.

Happy Saturday everyone!

One thought on “Honest

  1. Pingback: Vindicated! | Trying To Be A Good Vegan

Leave a Reply

