Sloppy Joes

Last night, I made sloppy joes. I used ground beef for the Hubs and little one, but I used lentils for my version. If you’ve never thought about it or never knew, PETA has some pretty good recipes on their site. I found the sloppy joe recipe there. I’ve never made sloppy joes with lentils, so I was eager to try it out.

I couldn’t remember how to cook lentils because it’s been such a long time. I couldn’t remember if it’s like cooking couscous or rice. So, I found this guide from The Kitchn. PETA’s recipe called for one cup of cooked lentils. So, I got one cup of uncooked lentils to prepare.

IMG_4115

I let my lentils cook for the full 30 minutes and I did have to add water two times. But on the other hand, when my lentils were done cooking I had to drain some water out. So, if you’re cooking them using this guide, then keep an eye on the water level. Also, when a recipe calls for a certain amount of cooked lentils, know that if you have uncooked lentils you’ll have to half it. The sloppy joe recipe called for one cup of cooked lentils. I got one cup of uncooked lentils and ended up with about two cups when they were done. So, next time, I’ll only use 1/2 cup of uncooked lentils and hopefully that’ll come out right. Below is how they looked when they were done cooking.

IMG_4117

When they were done cooking, I went ahead and cooked the ground beef for the Hubs and little one. One of the things I don’t miss about cooking meat is draining the fat off. I’ve always hated it because it’s just gross.

When the beef was done cooking, I went ahead and chopped up my green onions (scallions or spring onions) and tomatoes.

IMG_4118

IMG_4119

And yes, I actually measured out one cup of chopped tomato. I ended up using almost all of this tomato. OH! One thing I’ve run across lately is when you’re shopping for fresh tomatoes, make sure you look where the stem used to be. I’ve seen a few tomatoes with mold in this part in some grocery stores. Maybe it’s because they’re shipped in from so far, I don’t know, but look out for this when you buy tomatoes.

After the chopping was done, I gathered my ingredients for the sauce.

IMG_4120

Because I was making two sets of meat for this recipe, I had to make the sauce and then divide it amongst the lentils and beef to simmer. I also had to double up the recipe for the sauce to get the right amount. I followed the recipe and then realized it wasn’t going to be enough for the beef and lentils. If I was just making the beef or just the lentils, the sauce might have been enough. But I grew up having really sloppy sloppy joes. This is not a clean dinner to have.

IMG_4123

I served this with fries and on regular hamburger buns for the Hubs and little one. I used a gluten-free bun for mine. The lentils weren’t bad. Next time I’ll just have to make more of the sauce. That’s my only complaint.

Tonight I didn’t have anything special planned and I can’t really be bothered to go out to the grocery store. So, I think we’re just going to have fried rice tonight. Since we’re going to have fried rice tomorrow will be a no-post day.

Have a wonderful Saturday!

Leave a Reply

