Lemon Risotto

Today started off pretty good. I actually woke up before the little one!! I had to get up a little earlier than usual because I had an appointment with a local women’s shelter to drop off a bag full of jeans that I can’t fit anymore. They’re all jeans that are too big. I was going to contact a local consignment store to see about selling them. Then the Hubs suggested donating them. I didn’t feel too comfortable with donating them to a place that would resell them. I wanted them to go to a place that would go directly to the people who needed them. So, I thought about a shelter for abused women because they usually arrive at the shelter with what they’re wearing or what they can carry. So, I felt good about that.

Last night, we had lemon risotto that the Hubs made. My back was acting up all day yesterday. A few years ago, I slipped on our ice-covered deck steps and fell. The fall resulted in two discs that are now out of place. Sigh. So, while he made supper, I sat on the couch with a pillow with the little one watching The Backyardigans.

I love risotto but I hate cooking it. It’s just a lot of work in my opinion. You have to keep stirring and add the broth in increments. So, whenever we have it I make the Hubs cook it.

I found a Lemon Risotto recipe from Williams Sonoma a while ago, but it’s not vegan. That shouldn’t stop you though. You can always veganize a recipe if you really like it. For instance, you can use vegan butter instead of regular butter, you can make your own buttermilk, you can substitute eggs, use vegetable broth instead of chicken or beef broth, and you can substitute meat.

Risotto is just rice. You stir and stir and stir and add broth until the rice is creamy. This recipe called for shallots which is in the onion family. They’re just smaller and a milder than a regular onion. When I came over to take photos, the Hubs had the vegetable broth warming on another eye. I asked why and he said it’s so it won’t shock the arborio rice. Huh. I’ve never heard of that before. I’ve never warmed the broth before. So, when I did a quick google, this site says “if it’s cold you will shock the rice, which will flake on the outside and stay hard at the core.” I’ve never experienced this before. So, I guess there are people out there who will warm their broth or wine (if you’re using it), and there are people who won’t (me).

IMG_4105

You have to add a little bit of the broth to the arborio rice and stir and stir until the broth is absorbed. Then you start the process again until you’re done with the broth.

IMG_4109

Then, once you’re nearing the end you’ll notice the rice grains starting to look “fluffy” and the rice is starting to get creamy.

IMG_4114

Of course the little one liked this dish. He loves rice…period. It’s in his blood since his grandmother is Korean. I thought this dish was lemony but not too lemony. I think the Hubs actually measure out the 1/2 cup of lemon juice the recipe called for. If it was me, I wouldn’t have measured. But then again, I didn’t cook and that why my lemon pasta dish was overly tart.

Tonight the Hubs is planning supper. I have no idea what we’re having, so tomorrow will be a break from posting. Friday I have vegan sloppy joes planned. Well, I’ll use ground beef for the Hubs and little one but for myself I’ll use lentils. I’ve never done vegan sloppy joes with lentils, so we’ll see how that turns out.

Leave a Reply

