Vegan Fish and Chips

The one thing about being a vegan is I miss fish. I LOVE all kinds of fish: lobster, shrimp, crab, scallop, fish, squid. You name it, I’ll eat it. So, I was looking on One Green Planet and found this recipe. When I saw it and read through the recipe I gasped and I swear you could hear angels singing.

I used a white fish for the Hubs and little one and tofu for myself. With the breading in this recipe, the tofu really does take on a hint of being fishy (but not a bad kind of fish). It kind of reminds me of having a fish or a shrimp po’boy and hushpuppies. Oh how do I miss a good shrimp po’boy and some good hushpuppies.

But back to the task at hand. These are the ingredients you use. If you don’t want a gluten-free version, then just swap out the rice flour for regular flour.

fish_sandwich_ingredients_watermark

This is what the breading looks like after you mix everything together. I didn’t make two different versions (gluten free and a regular one) because the recipe makes the perfect amount for the fish and my tofu. I’m not worried about cross contamination between the fish and tofu.

fish_breading_watermark

This time, I decided to try a new brand of tofu. I thought I should broaden my tofu horizon. This tofu is just a little bit more expensive, smaller, and a lot more firm than my regular brand. Both tofus say they’re medium firm, but this one was by far firmer than my usual brand. Because this one was firmer, there was less water to squeeze out. But this tofu is also a smaller block. I got less slices out of this one than my usual brand.

new_tofu_watermark

new_tofu_sliced_watermark

In all honesty, I think the firmness of this new tofu makes up for it being a smaller block. I’m not sure if I’d buy this one again but I wouldn’t rule it out either.

So, you know when you’re going to bread and fry something you’re gonna have to dip it in milk. I used almond milk instead of soy milk. You only need a little bit. Here’s my assembly line in my crowded little corner.

fish_assembly_line_watermark

I did the fish for the Hubs and little one first. I found some snapper filets at the grocery store, but I only cooked three filets: two for the little one (one for lunch the next day) and one for the Hubs.

fish_watermark

I have to admit, even though I’m a HUGE fish lover, I didn’t want to have any of it. After trying to be a good vegan for almost a year, those powerful cravings eventually go away. Well, I should rephrase that. The don’t go away altogether, they just lose their strength.

Here’s my dish: vegan fish and chips. This was before I drowned my fries in ketchup. The Hubs and I didn’t make a sandwich. I’m staying away from wheat (which, by the way, since I’ve stayed away from it I haven’t had that “drunk” feeling), and the Hubs is just trying to lessen his bread consumption.

Tofu_and_chips_watermark

Tonight is spaghetti night, but the Hubs suggested we use spaghetti squash instead of pasta. GASP!! I think I’m slowly turning him into a vegan! He’s going to cook tonight. I need a little break and he said he misses cooking. So, I may or may not post tomorrow since tonight is such a simple recipe.

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

