Spaghetti with Lemon and Toasted Walnuts

I found this recipe from Vegetarian Times. It’s a REALLY good dish IF you don’t use too much lemon juice. I used one lemon for the Hubs and little one and one lemon for myself.

Let me explain. I made a dish for the Hubs and for the little one using regular spaghetti for the Hubs and penne for the little one. It’s easier for him to eat. The sauce for their dinners has parmesan cheese in it. My dish had spaghetti made from quinoa. I didn’t want to buy pasta made from corn and I find the rice pasta a bit chewy. So, I decided to give this one a try.

three_pastas_watermark

I toasted the walnuts in the oven, and while those were toasting I did the sauce.

sauce_ingredients_watermark

I used parmesan in the sauce for the Hubs and the little one, but I used nutritional yeast for mine. Nutritional yeast (or nooch) is like a parmesan substitute for vegans, and is a good source of vitamin B12. The name nutritional yeast doesn’t sound appealing at all not does it look all that appealing (especially when you’re a new vegan). When I opened my first bag of it, I thought it looked like fish food. But, it’s really good in food. I use it in place of parmesan. You can sprinkle it on different foods like popcorn and I used it to make vegan garlic bread sticks (those don’t last long in this house).

A note about the Italian parsley: there really is a difference in taste between it and regular parsley. So, if you ever see a recipe that calls for Italian parsley, go find it. It’s worth getting the proper parsley.

This is the sauce for the Hubs and little one.

hubs_sauce_watermark

And here is my sauce with the nutritional yeast.

vegan_sauce_watermark

Now, it was on to cooking the three different pastas. I have a spaghetti measure that I got from Crate & Barrel a while ago.

spaghetti_measure_watermark

The Hubs always says I have a portion control problem when it comes to pasta. For the longest time, I would cook enough pasta for four people instead of the two of us (before the little one came along). On top of that, I’d always over cook the pasta. I’ve only recently started cooking it al dente. Like I said, cooking it a learning process.

I measured out only one serving for the Hubs because he wouldn’t have any for lunch today. I measured out 2 servings for myself because I’d have some leftovers for lunch. For the little one, I just threw a handful of penne into a little pot.

measuring_spaghetti_watermark

I had three different pots of pasta going on the stove. The regular pastas cooked way before my quinoa pasta. I went ahead and got the dish done for the little one and then continued to work on ours. This one is for the Hubs. Ignore the lottery tickets that are off to the side. I really need to clean off our island.

hubs_dish_watermark

And here’s my dish.

my_dish_watermark

You can see the difference in the quinoa spaghetti and the regular spaghetti. While it was cooking you could smell a slight nutty scent. To me, it didn’t taste all that nutty nor did it taste of quinoa. It was pretty good and I’ll use it over corn or brown rice pasta that’s for sure. The bag I bought had 2 servings in it.

This dish is good but I made the mistake of adding the juice of one lemon EACH to each sauce. The recipe calls for 1/4 cup of lemon juice and I thought I’d be a know-it-all so-and-so and add a whole lemon. The dish was TART!! The little one didn’t want anything to do with it so I had to make him a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. The Hubs ate his like a champ and I ate mine. When I had my leftover for lunch, I added a bit of water to take the tartness out. So, that’s my piece of advice. That and make sure to use Italian parsley.

Tonight I’m making fish and chips for the Hubs and little one and tofu and chips for myself. This dish was a hit the last time I made it. I actually paid attention to the measurements in the recipe! SHOCK!

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

