Vegan Rice Krispy Treats

Yesterday was a snow day for Edmonton. I’m not sure how much snow we got, but we got quite a bit. It was horizontal snow for a while there. I shoveled the front sidewalk yesterday afternoon thinking that I would be making less work for the evening or even the next day, and I did the same for the back so our dog could go out without disappearing. I was totally delusional. Within an hour, it looked like I hadn’t done a thing. So I just gave up. My lovely neighbor got out and shoveled the front last night. I was just gonna do it this morning but he beat me to it. Below is what our deck looked like this morning. Sigh.

snow_watermark

So, instead of being down about the snow last night, I decided to try the rice krispy treats again. The vegan recipe I tried earlier didn’t work out, so I used an original recipe. I used the first one. I figured I could veganize the recipe, and I LOVE the original recipe. It just takes me back to being a kid and having that crispy, gooy, marshmallowy goodness. Plus, I loved having rice krispy cereal as a kid and hearing the “snap, crackle, and pop.” However, me being a good vegan, I don’t use anything with gelatin in it.

Gelatin is derived from the bones, ligaments, tendons, skin, and other connective tissues from animals. I don’t know about you, but that just sounds gross to me. Gelatin is used in LOTS of stuff including marshmallows, jelly (what we Southerners call jam), cosmetics, and a host of other products.

So, with that in mind, I used a vegan marshmallow. In my opinion there’s no difference between this vegan marshmallow and a regular marshmallow.

vegan_marshmallows_watermark

When I tried to melt these along with the butter, it seemed like it took forever to melt. Maybe regular marshmallows melt easier than vegan ones? I was actually kind of getting worried because I had it in my mind that they would melt faster.

melting_butter_marshmallows_watermark

I’m stirring and stirring and mashing them to get them to melt faster. At least in my mind it made sense to smash them. I turned the heat up a bit and FINALLY they started to melt and form a gooy mess.

melting_marshmallows_2_watermark

Then I had to add it to my six cups of rice krispies. I forgot to mention that I’m using a gluten-free brand called Nature’s Path. So, I added this gooy mass to my rice krispies and had to mix mix mix. I had six cups of cereal in my bowl and this gooy mass didn’t seem to be mixing all that well. I don’t know how long I was mixing, I finally got it all to mix. That’s about the time the little one decided to come in the kitchen and demand to know what I was doing. So, I let him taste some before I put it in the pan.

rice_krispy_treat_set_watermark

This time I made sure to press them into the pan pretty good. I knew the marshmallows would hold them together, but I wanted to make double sure that nothing would fall apart.

rice_krispy_goodness_watermark

Don’t you just love seeing that gooy goodness? This time the treats came out perfect. Me and the little one were snacking on these all afternoon, and I even had some for breakfast. The Hubs comes home from Ontario this evening and I’m not sure he’s going to have any to sample!

The Asian noodle bowl I was supposed to make last night didn’t happen. I just wasn’t all that hungry so I just made the little one his dinner. But, I’m gonna have to make this tonight. So be expecting to see that post tomorrow.

Happy Friday everyone!!

Leave a Reply

