PIZZA!

First off, did y’all watch the Superbowl? I couldn’t watch the first half because the little one wanted to watch The Backyardigans. Every time I tried to change the channel, he’d get upset. I did get to see the halftime show with Katy Perry and those sharks. Not to mention Missy Elliot! Holla!! The last few minutes of the game was a nail biter. I was rooting for Seattle, but oh well.

So, we FINALLY got to have the pizza we’ve been delaying. The Hubs and the little one had regular pizza with salami, grape tomatoes, and red bell pepper. The Hubs made me a gluten-free vegan pizza. Yes, he really loves me. He used the gluten-free pizza crust recipe from the Minimalist Baker, but he didn’t realize they used different flours. I have Bob’s Red Mill all-purpose gluten-free flour, so I don’t have to use different flours. So, we had to tweak it a bit by added more flour and xantham gum. I got my xantham gum from Bulk Barn because it was cheaper there.

gluten_free_pizza_crust_1_watermark

gluten_free_pizza_crust_2_watermark

gluten_free_pizza_crust_3_watermark

xantham_gum_watermark

Once the Hubs got it to the texture he was sort of pleased with, he had to spread it out on a pan.

gluten_free_pizza_crust_texture_watermark

So, we lined a baking pan with tin foil and he sprinkled some corn meal on the bottom hoping to prevent it from sticking. Just a word of advice: if you’re going to make this pizza crust, use a non-stick spray.

gluten_free_pizza_crust_spreading_watermark

gluten_free_pizza_crust_spreading_2_watermark

gluten_free_pizza_crust_spreading_3_watermark

The photo above is how it looked before it went into the oven to bake. It doesn’t look pretty or perfect, but I didn’t care. There was going to be sauce and toppings on top of it. Below is a photo of my pizza before it went into the oven. The Hubs added Daiya mozzarella cheese for me, but I added more. Quite a bit more. I LOVE cheese and I expect my pizza to be cheesy.

This is how it was before I added the extra cheese.

gluten_free_pizza_1_watermark

And then this is the final product. You can see I added a lot more cheese.

gluten_free_pizza_final_watermark

The Hubs was a bit scared at how the pizza was going to turn out, but I must say for his very first try at a gluten-free pizza he did a fabulous job. My only complaint is I would leave out the sugar in the pizza crust recipe and add olives to the toppings. The added sugar is something that’s just my opinion. Whenever I bake bread, I leave out the added sugar. There’s just too much added sugar in everything we eat nowadays. So, if I can help it I won’t add it.

The crust did stick a bit to the tin foil. I had to kind of peel it off, but that’s ok. The crust didn’t break off in pieces or anything. That’s why I suggest using a non-stick spray next time.

The Hubs is in Ontario this week for work, so it’s just me and the little one. Tonight I’m making a frittata that is definitely NOT vegan. It’s for the little one.

Leave a Reply

