My Saturday Night

Last night we were supposed to have pizza, but that didn’t happen. Some friends of ours were having a get together, the dog had an appoint with the groomers, and I had an appointment at the hair salon. So, with all of our appointments and having to deal with the little one and try to do a regular pizza and gluten-free pizza just wasn’t happening. The Hubs got a little stressed out just thinking about it. So, I said we’ll do the pizza on Sunday because our friends were having food.

I wasn’t feeling too good after coming back from the hair salon. I wasn’t sure if the decaf tea I had there had something to do with it, but I wasn’t feeling good at all. I decided to cook the little one an omelet with cheese and his chicken deli slices. Then I had the last gluten-free baguette with veganaise, ketchup (yes, ketchup and mayo is a good combo. You should give it a try), daiya mozzarella, and an egg. I wanted something easy and kind of bland for my stomach. I didn’t have any tofu left because I finished all the leftover Mongolian tofu for lunch.

The little one and the Hubs went to the get together for a bit while I stayed at home. My stomach settled a bit after dinner but not a lot. It just settled to the point where I didn’t feel like I was going to vomit all over the place. So, I decided to make some ginger tea.

ginger_tea_prep_watermark

I didn’t have any fresh ginger so I used dried ginger. Now, if you’ve ever made ginger tea with dried ginger, you know you only need just a teeny tiny bit. I didn’t know that. I thought I’d use a teaspoon which was a really really really BAD idea. Me being totally oblivious, I went ahead and put the teaspoon of ginger in my favorite (<–American spelling) Hello Kitty mug, with a slice of lemon that I quartered (I find it’s easier to squeeze the juice out that way), and poured my water in. When I took that first sip, I thought “what the?”. It was spicy! I never knew ginger could be spicy. So, I had to pour some out. Well, a lot. Then I added more water and honey. (Yes, I know vegans aren’t supposed to use honey because it’s an animal byproduct. But, in case you haven’t noticed, I’m not your typical vegan.) After watering it down it was palatable. I still couldn’t drink the whole mug, but I did drink a bit and it did settle my stomach for the rest of the evening.

ginger_tea_watermark

That’s how I spent my Saturday evening. Tonight, I am looking forward to the pizza. I’m not exactly sure how the Hubs is going to do it, but I’ll post it tomorrow and let y’all know.

Leave a Reply

