Mongolian Beef and Tofu with Rice

Last night the Hubs and little one had Mongolian beef with rice and I had tofu instead of beef. My “plumbing” just hasn’t been right since I’ve consumed meat a few times. So, again, I’m trying to be a good vegan and not consume any kind of flesh. I have a recipe for P.F. Chang’s Mongolian Beef. We don’t have a P.F. Chang’s here in Edmonton. They’re only out in Toronto and in Quebec.

Being half Korean, kokuho rice was a staple in our house. We always had it on hand. I’m still that way today. I’ll always have a small bag of it instead of the HUGE bag we had when we were little.

rice_watermarkIt’s always good to have it on hand because I can always whip up some fried rice when I have nothing particularly planned, or if I just don’t feel like having what I had planned.

The only thing with this rice is you MUST rinse it. You have to fill the pot up with water and kind of massage the rice to rinse it out. This is what it looks like on the first try.

first_rice_rinse_watermarkYou see how the water is milky looking? You want to keep rinsing it until you can at least see the rice granules through the water. Once you’re happy with the cleanliness of the water, you’ll want to put your hand into the water and put the tip of your middle finger gently on top of the rice. You’ll want to fill enough water to your first knuckle line. At least that’s how my mom taught me to do it and it’s never failed me yet.

rice_water_watermark

I turn the eye on high to get the rice to boil pretty quickly. Once it starts boiling, you can turn it down low and let it cook for 20 minutes.

Then I got started on the beef. I bought one pound of flank steak from my local butcher.

flank_steak_watermark

And this is the soy sauce I found from Kikkoman (our trusted brand of choice for soy sauce).

gluten_free_soy_sauce_watermarkSince I was making the beef for the Hubs and the little one and making tofu for myself, I had all four eyes on the stove occupied. I thought it was going to be hard trying to cook for myself and for my two carnivores, but I allowed myself plenty of time to get dinner done. I allowed myself time to cut the beef (against the grain), and to slice and press the water out of the tofu.

stove_fully_occupied_watermarkBecause I was using the small pan for my tofu, the beef finished cooking before the tofu which was ok because the little one was getting hungry. These are how both dishes came out looking.

mongolian_tofu_watermark

Mongolian Tofu

mongolian_beef_watermark

Mongolian Beef

I just love the combination of soy sauce and brown sugar. I totally forgot all about the green onions but that’s ok because the little one was getting hungry by the time I thought of them. The recipe I have tells you to cook the beef in the sauce but for obvious reasons, I cooked the sauce separate in its own pot.

Tonight, the Hubs is cooking dinner. He’s making pizza. We found a gluten-free pizza crust recipe from Bob’s Red Mill, so we’re going to give that a try.

Happy Saturday everyone!

2 thoughts on “Mongolian Beef and Tofu with Rice

  1. Pingback: Fried Rice | Trying To Be A Good Vegan

  2. Pingback: BBQ Veggie Burger – My Food Evolution

Leave a Reply

